The house at 419 Linebrook Road in Ipswich was constructed c. 1840 by William Perkins Perley shortly after his marriage to Eliza Howe. The land belonged to his father-in-law, Aaron Howe. The house was described as “beautiful of situation” and picturesque. Mrs. and Mrs. Perley were divorced in about 1845. Eliza H. Perley acceded to ownership and managed the farm with skill, living there until well over 90 years of age. For many years the clergymen of the Linebrook Church lived in the house.
Elizabeth Howe, executed during the Salem witch trials, lived in a small house which is believed to have stood in the rear of the present house, the cellar being marked by a slight depression in the ground “196 feet oyer the knoll northeast from the well and 95 feet northwest from the oak tree. The depression was long known in the family as ” Mary’s hole,” having been named for Mary, the daughter of James Howe, who devotedly served him during his blindness and old age.
This house employs the story-and-one-third configuration characteristic of most Linebrook construction of mid-19th century. The house at 411 Linebrook Rd. is very similar, and they are the only houses of the type in the area to incorporate small square windows on the second level.
The Elizabeth Howe Perley house has a preservation restriction with the Ipswich Historical Commission, dated April 9, 2003, and includes the field stone foundation, maintenance or identical replacement of exterior trim and siding, maintenance or identical replacement of interior finish elements, maintenance of fireplaces, and all major structural post and beam members. Any alterations shall require the prior approval of the Ipswich Historical Commission. This agreement remains in affect until the year 2100.