Sources of information:
- To update or add information, please contact town historian Gordon Harris at firstname.lastname@example.org
- Susan Nelson’s comprehensive inventory for the Ipswich Historical Commission (updated and corrected, 2006)
- List of historic houses in Ipswich without photos.
- The Ipswich Patriot Properties site is not reliable for date of construction but are the source of many photos.
- Information is from “Ipswich in the Massachusetts Bay Colony,” by Thomas Franklin Waters,
- The Ipswich inventory on the MACRIS site,
- Photos of First Period and covenanted houses by Johanne Cassia for the Ipswich Historical Commission.
View houses by date of construction
- Houses built before 1725 (First Period)
- 17th Century Ipswich houses
- 18th Century Ipswich houses
- 19th Century Ipswich houses
- 20th Century Ipswich houses
Ipswich Historical Commission Resources
- Order a plaque for your historic home
- Architectural Styles
- The annual Mary Conley Award
- Historic Houses Partial List (PDF)
- Preservation Agreements
- First and Second Period Houses (PDF)
- Demolition Delay Bylaw
- Architectural Preservation District
View houses by historic districts and neighborhoods
- Architectural Preservation District
- Meetinghouse Green Historic District
- East End Historic District
- High St. Historic District
- South Green Historic District
- Ipswich Mills and Brown Mills Historic Districts
- Central – Washington Street Victorian Neighborhood
- Linebrook Parish
- Ipswich Village
- Interactive map of Ipswich historic houses
- Registry of Historic Places listings
- Researching the age and history of your historic house
- The ancient houses of Essex County: Beverly, Danvers, Essex, Gloucester, Groveland, Hamilton, Ipswich, Marblehead, Merrimac, Newbury, Newburyport, Rowley, Salem, Topsfield, Wenham, West Newbury
- First Period houses of Essex County
- First, Second and Third Period houses of Ipswich
- First Period construction
- MACRIS inventory of Ipswich houses
- Permit Records – Ipswich building permit records and inspections from 2010 to present. username: ipswich password: 01938
Click on the names or images to read the histories of the houses listed.
- View this list without photos.
- Email Gordon Harris at email@example.com with your additions or corrections for this site.
- Houses names are the first owner or a person who lived in them.
- Street addresses are listed alphabetically by the first digit. (For example, 9 High Street follows 89 High Street).
6 Agawam Avenue, the Augustine Carey – Captain John Hobbs house (1855) - This house was built in 1855 by Augustus C. Carey, who sold it in 1865 to Captain John Hobbs, who recruited two companies of Ipswich men during the Civil War, one of which he led to the front.
8 Agawam Avenue, the Newmarch – Spiller house (1798) - Hannah Newmarch Spiller was Zaccheus' grandaughter and wife of Thomas Newmarch, who is assumed to have built this house.The estate was bequeathed by Hannah's sister Martha Newmarch (who was unmarried, to Hannah Spiller, daughter of her late sister.
1 Old England Road, Moritz B. Philipp and Jane Peterson estate (1885) - "The sightly residence of Moritz B. Philipp crowns the rugged eminence known in Mr. Hubbard's day and from the earliest times as Rocky Hill. The earliest name associated with the Hill is that of Humphrey Griffin."
10 Argilla Rd., Harry Joyce house (c 1885) - The house at 10 Argilla Rd. is not shown in the 1884 Ipswich map, but was sold by Harry Joyce on Oct. 8, 1890 to Gustavus Kinsman. Sources Salem Deeds, book 1291, page 230: Harry Joyce to Gustavus Kinsman on Oct. 8, 18901884 Ipswich map1893 Ipswich Birdseye map1910 […]
107 Argilla Road, Argilla Farm (1785) - In 1637, John Winthrop Jr. conveyed his farm to Samuel Symonds, who became Deputy-Governor of the Colony. It came into possession of Thomas Baker, who married one of Symonds' daughters. Allen Baker built the hip-roofed farm house in 1785. It was purchased by Ephraim Brown and inherited by his son Thomas.
110 Argilla Road, the Hamlin Reservation - The Hamlin Reservation is a 135 acre former coastal farmland, with a rocky forested island surrounded by salt marsh, now owned by the Trustees of Reservations. The house an barn were moved from across the road in about 1916.
12 Argilla Road, the Norman J. Bolles house (c 1900) - The first known owner of this house is Norman J. Bolles, president of the Ipswich Savings bank. This house is a fine example of a Queen Anne Cottage. Features include a wealth of shingle types and an exceptional shingled carriage house in the rear which retains a cupola.
13 Argilla Road, Thomas and Elizabeth Brown house (c 1844) - The simple exterior is enlivened by Victorian elements, including two door hoods with elaborate scroll brackets decorated with incised floral motifs and sunbursts. Thomas Brown is the first known owner of the house (shown in a map dated 1856).
14 Argilla Rd. (c. 1920) - 14 Argilla Rd. (c. 1920)
15 Argilla Road, the George Dexter house (1893) - George Dexter was a prominent Ipswich photographer in the 19th Century through 1920. This classic Queen Anne house includes an outbuilding which was used by Dexter as a photography studio.
153 Argilla Road, the Isaac Goodale house (1669) - This First Period house was built in West Peabody before 1695. In 1928 it was reconstructed at 153 Argilla Road by Robert and Susan Goodale.
155 Argilla Road, the Homan-Isley house (moved here in 1951) - This house was moved to this location from Ilsley Farm in W. Newbury. Architectural features suggest an 18th Century origin.
164 Argilla Rd. the Francis Cogswell homestead, 1743 - Francis Cogswell purchased this property in 1743, but the date of construction is uncertain.
168 Argilla Road, the Tilton-Smith house (c 1720) - Built circa 1720 by Abraham Tilton Jr., a 1998 fire took away much of its original frame, but the owner totally rebuilt the home with with materials salvaged from 18th and 19th century structures throughout New England.
17 Argilla Road, the Samuel Wade – S. F. Canney house (1845) - Samuel Wade built this house as a cottage in 1845. In 1856 it was owned by S. F. Canney, whose lumber company burned at its first location by the County Street Bridge, and again at its Brown Square location.
178 Argilla Road, the Stephen Smith house (1742) - Sagamore Hill, which is near Fox Creek and Argilla Roads, was originally apportioned in small tillage lots to a considerable number of owners. The house was built by Stephen Smith, who bought the land in 1742.
188 Argilla Road, the Oliver Cogswell house, 1815 - Oliver Cogswell built this dwelling about 1815. In the early 20th Century it was purchased by Dr. Joseph L. Goodale of Boston, who improved the plain farm dwelling into an attractive summer home.
203 Argilla Rd., the William Shurcliff house (1963) - The house at 203 Argilla Rd. was designed in 1963 for William Shurcliff by architect Royal Barry Wills.
207 Argilla Rd., the Sidney Shurcliff house (1935) - Sidney Shurcliff, a Boston landscape architect hired architect George W. W. Brewster to convert the Mary Lord house into his summer residence.
211 Argilla Rd., the Mary Ann Archer Lord house (1902) - In 1902, Mary Ann Archer Lord of Boston purchased 20 Acres of Land on Argilla Road from the Smith family. No buildings are mentioned in the deed. In 1929, Sidney Lord and other parties sold to Benjamin Van Wick the property, including buildings, bordering on the lot of […]
217 Argilla Road, the Townsend house (1902) - In 1892 Dr. Charles Wendell Townsend and his family began spending summers on Argilla Road, staying at Smith’s Boarding house. He built his house a decade later. Townsend is known for his nature studies of the sand dunes and wildlife at Crane Beach and Plum Island.
232 Argilla Road, the Patch-Brown-Crockett house (c 1760-85) - John Patch died in 1799 leaving the Sagamore Hill farm to his grandson Tristram Brown, who built the dwelling, which he operated as a boarding house on the way to the beach. Dr. Eugene A. Crockett bought the property along with its dairy and hay farm in November 1897.
280 Argilla Road, the Inn at Castle Hill (1860) - Originally built as a farmhouse in the mid-1800's, businessman John Burnham Brown, inherited and expanded it into a larger home with a road system and gardens. Richard T. Crane purchased the property in 1910 and spent summers here while his mansion was under construction. In 2000, The Trustees of Reservations opened it as “The Inn at Castle Hill.”
3 Argilla Rd. (c. 1900) - This house has not been researched
43 Argilla Road, the Giddings – Burnham house (b 1667) - The earliest section of the Giddings-Burnham House at 43 Argilla Road in Ipswich was built in the mid-17th Century by carpenter George Giddings who immigrated from Norfolk, England. The earliest documentation for this property was the deed of sale between George Giddings and his brother-in-law Thomas Burnham in 1667.
50 Argilla Road, the Burnham-Andrews house (1815) - The Burnham farm at one time stretched both sides of Argilla Road. This house was probably moved a short distance to this location by J. Howard Burnham in the late 18th or early 19th Century.
53 Argilla Road, the Samuel Kinsman house (1750-77) - Samuel Kinsman received this property in a bequest from his father Capt. John Kinsman, who married Hannah Burnham in 1733. The house is generally dated circa 1750 with a 1777 wing from an existing structure that was moved.
66 Argilla Road, the George Haskell house (1855) - George Haskell, a lawyer, constructed the large white house on Argilla Road at the base of Heartbreak Hill in 1855-56. A gentleman farmer, he invested his time in a quest for the ultimate wine grape.
The Crane Estate (1928) - Castle Neck and Crane Beach have a long history of ownership by several families before being granted by the Cranes to the Trustees of Reservations.
10 Brown Square, Tedfords Lumber (1933) - Tedford's Lumber on Brown Square got its start in 1946 when James Tedford Sr. and Bill Martin, just back from the Navy, took a portable sawmill into the woods to cut timber. The next year they decided to open a lumber yard on Brown Square.
19 Brown Square (1903) - Harold Bowen wrote that this building was constructed from bricks that were saved from where the parking lot is now for the Ipswich Inn opposite N. Main st.
2 Brewery Place (Brown Square) Ipswich Ale Brewery (c 1900) - The Burke Shoe Heel factory burned on June 19, 1933, but this wing survived the fire, and is today the Ipswich Ale Brewery. It was the home of Saffron Brothers, the exclusive suppliers of clams to the Howard Johnson chain for 32 years.
8 Brown Street, Timothy Carey house (1890) - The house is typical of the Liberty/Brown/Mineral/Washington Street “folk victorian” homes built at the end of the 19th Century, often from plans available through architectural magazines. The style in Ipswich was generally L-shaped with a porch and brackets under the gable, and mass-produced prefabricated trim.
10 Brown Street, Essex Hosiery Company worker housing (c 1900) - Several homes on this street were built by the short-lived Essex Hosiery Company to house their employees. The house is typical of the vernacular Victorian "gable with ell" homes built at the end of the 19th Century on Brown and Mineral Streets.
12 Brown St. (c 1890) - Several homes on this street were built by the short-lived Essex Hosiery Company to house their employees. The house is typical of the vernacular Victorian "gable with ell" homes built at the end of the 19th Century on Brown, Cottage and Mineral Streets.
14 Brown St., Mitchell-Ralph house (c 1890) - Several homes on this street were built by the short-lived Essex Hosiery Company to house their employees. The house is typical of the vernacular Victorian "gable with ell" homes built at the end of the 19th Century on Brown, Cottage and Mineral Streets.
16 Brown St., the Leno house (1890) - Several homes on this street were built by the short-lived Essex Hosiery Company to house their employees. The house is typical of the vernacular Victorian "gable with ell" homes built at the end of the 19th Century on Brown, Cottage and Mineral Streets.
14 Candlewood Road, the Joseph Brown and Elizabeth Perkins house (1779) - Elizabeth Brown, descendant of the early Candlewood settler John Brown, was the wife of Captain Perkins, and gained possession of this lot. In December, 1779, their daughter, Elizabeth, became the wife of Joseph Brown, of the same family line, who built this house.
3 Candlewood Rd., the Brown-Whipple house (1812) - Joseph Brown built this house in 1812 as a dwelling for his son, James, and sold him the house and 3 acres, Dec. 23, 1817. The entire estate of Joseph Brown eventually was inherited by James. In 1852, D. F. Brown and the other heirs sold their interest to Hervey Whipple, who had married Martha P., daughter of James Brown, July 3, 1852. The heirs of Hervey Whipple still occupied into the 21st Century.
30 Candlewood Rd., the Ephraim Brown house (1825) - More homes of the Brown family in Ipswich
36 Candlewood Road, the Martin Keith house (1807, moved 1995) - The Martin Keith House (1807) is a fine Federal era specimen that stood for two centuries in Middleborough MA. by 1990 it was barely salvageable with rotted sills and interior damage. In 1995 buyers from Ipswich agreed to have it restored on their property.
41 Candlewood Road, the Boardman house (c 1730) - Bryan Townsend completely restored this second-period 1750 home built by Captain John Boardman or his son Thomas. The barn that Townsend restored received the 2009 Mary Conley award for historic preservation of an Ipswich property.
49 Candlewood Road, the Robert Kinsman house (b 1714) - Robert Kinsman constructed this First Period house before 1714, and the home has been greatly expanded over the years. Stephen Kinsman inherited the house in 1726, and with his wife Elizabeth Russell brought up a family of twelve children. They dwelt in the old Robert Kinsman homestead until 1767 when he sold his farm, 47 acres and buildings to Samuel Patch.
59 Candlewood Road, the Jeremiah Kinsman house (1752) - Stephen Kinsman built the house at 59 Candlewood Rd. in 1752. He bequeathed to his son Jeremiah "all my lands in Walker's Swamp with the dwelling house and buildings thereon, recorded Dec.27, 1756, by which time Jeremiah and his wife Sara Harris were living in it. This house is protected by a preservation agreement with the town of Ipswich and the Historical Commission.
65 Candlewood Road, the Rhoda Kinsman house ( 1776 / 1818) - Jeremiah Kinsman died in 1818, and his will bequeathed the “Walker’s Island farm” to his sons Jeremiah and William in equal parts. William or his son William Jr. built this house next door, which was known as the “cottage." It came to be occupied by Rhoda Kinsman, daughter of William Jr.
101 Central Street, Newton house (c 1900) - This house first appears in the 1910 Ipswich map on the same lot with the house in front, labeled, “Mrs. Newton.” Sources: Mary Newton to Arthur Bishop, 1908 Salem Deeds, book 1930, page 300 1910 Ipswich map Salem Deeds, 3502/452: Ernest Harding to Dorothy Barney, 1946
107 Central Street, the Collins house (c 1880) - This rambling double house is trimmed with characteristic Queen Anne finery. The entrance porches are decorated with turned posts, balusters, and spindle screens. Elaborate rising sun motifs in both gables, eave brackets, and staggered butt shingles in the bays complete the design.
108 Central Street, the George W. Baker house (1872) - 108 Central Street is one of three identical houses along this stretch of Central Street. George W. Baker, who served in the Civil War from February, 1962 until August, 1865 occupied the house after its construction.
109 Central Street, Daniel and Mary Collins house (1873) - The house at 109 Central St. appears in the 1884 Ipswich map as “Collins,” and is shown in the 1893 Ipswich Birdseye map. Daniel Collins deeded the house to his “loving daughter” Mary Collins in 1887. The “parcel of land” “on the new road” was conveyed by Nathan […]
110 Central Street, the Samuel Baker house (before 1884) - Three identical houses with mansard roofs appear in the 1893 Ipswich Birdseye map and are still standing. The 1884 Ipswich map shows this house owned by “S. H. Baker” and the one next door owned by “G. H. Baker.” Samuel Baker and other parties conveyed “a certain parcel […]
111 Central Street, the Albert and Annie Garland house (1894) - The house at 111 Central St. first appears in the 1910 Ipswich map, with the owner shown as A. S. Garland. Albert J. Garland, Edward Lord and Edward Baxter received a mortgage for the lot “with a new building thereon” in 1894 (Book 1432, page 305). Henry Garland was […]
2 Central Street, the Tyler Building (1906) - The Tyler Building, was the last commercial block on Central Street to be constructed after the 1894 Central Street fire. It was the home of Tyler's Department Store and Quint's Drugs.
33 Central Street, Memorial Hall (1921) - In 1921 the Memorial Building was built in memory of Ipswich Veterans. The long stairs from Central Street were difficult. The town sold the building to a non-profit corporation in 2003 and the building was renovated into affordable elderly housing.
35 Central St., the Caldwell-Copp house - The Oak Hill apartments building at 35 Central Street was constructed in 1880 by Joel Caldwell. In 1891, Margaret and Lydia Caldwell sold the property to Carlton and Harriett Copp.
38 Central Street, the Measures building (c 1900) - Austin Measures built this after the Central Street fire of 1894. Measures' Candy Shop was a long-lasting institution that began in a small small building on North Main Street. The building was taken down in 1904 to construct the Colonial Building, and he reopened in this Central Street location.
44 Central St., the Ellen V. Lang house (c 1885) - The 1884 Ipswich map shows a house set back from Central St., belonging to “Mrs. Wildes.” In 1888, The Agawam Manual and Directory by M.V. B. Perley, shows the following residences: Lang E. V. Mrs, Central corner of Hammatt Lang George T, clerk (Boston) h Central corner of […]
55 Central Street, Central Fire Station (1907) - Constructed for horse-drawn equipment in 1908, this building has served for over a century as the Ipswich fire station.
79 Central Street, the Foster Russell Jr. house (1883) - John Cogswell sold this lot without a house for $300 to Augustus Russell and Foster Russell Jr. in 1883 (book 1110, page 078). This house appears in the 1893 Ipswich Birdseye map; the 1884 and 1910 Ipswich maps show the owner of the house as Foster Russell Jr. […]
80 Central Street, the Malachi Nolan house (1877) - Dr. Asabel Wildes sold three small lots to Malachi Nolan who appears to have build this house in 1877. His daughter Mary Marshall sold the combined lots with the building to Charles A Sayward in 1911.
82 Central St., the Isaac J. Potter house (b 1884) - This house was the home of Isaac J. Potter, editor of the Ipswich Chronicle, who became the paper's sole proprietor.
83 Central Street, the International House (1866) - In 1866 the International House was built by the Eastern Railroad beside the Ipswich Depot. It was moved in 1882 to make room for a new depot. It continued to be operated as a hotel, and In the 1970's and 80's was known as the House of Hinlin.
87 Central Street (c 1890) - The 1910 Ipswich map shows the owner of the house at 87 Central Street as"Misses Peatsfield." The house is almost identical in construction to the house at 89 Central Street, which is shown in the 1884 Ipswich map.
88 Central Street, the W. L. Johnson house (c 1880) - The W. L. Johnson house is the most ambitious Mansard on Central St., and preserves original decorative detailing. A matching carriage house also survives.
90 Central Street, the Brown-Riley house (1897) - Deeds: Salem Deeds book 1517, page 254: Abbie Lord to Maria Brown, June 3, 1897. Sale of a parcel of land for $700. Salem Deeds book 1841, page 185: James Brown to Adelle Riley, 1906. Sale of parcel of land with house thereon. Salem Deeds book 2932 page […]
91 Central Street, the Sylvanius and Mary Canney house (c 1866) - The house at this location first appears in the 1872 Ipswich map under the name "S. F. Canney." Sylvanius F. Canney purchased the lot in 1866, and sold the house and land to Israel Jewett in 1869.
92 Central St., the Abbie G. Lord house, 1871 - The house at 90 Central St., was constructed after Andrew Geyer purchased the lot from Amos Smith in 1869. He sold the finished house to Abbie G. Lord in 1873, who sold to Maria J. Brown in 1897.
97 Central Street, the Olive and Charles McIntire house (1885) - This house was constructed with stick-style Victorian decorative features.
98 Central Street, the William and Abigail Haskell house (b 1884) - This house first appears under the name William Haskell in the 1884 Ipswich map.The house is shown as “A. Damon” in the 1910 map. It is also shown in the 1893 Birdseye map of Ipswich.
102 County Road, the Rowell-Homans house (c 1865) - A brick powder house was constructed near this house. Ira Worcester sold Jane Rowell, the half acre lot on Aug. 31, 1865, on which she built this dwelling, later owned by Mr. Homans, with the right to the Town to keep the Powder house. April 18, 1871.
117 County Road, the Hellenic Center (1904) - Mrs. Anna P. Peabody purchased thiis property in 1903-4 and transformed the bare pastures into a beautiful estate which named Floriana. For many years it has served as the Hellenic Center for the town's Greek population.
126 County Road, Benjamin Stickney Cable Memorial Hospital (1916-1987) - Cable Memorial Hospital was built in 1917 on the former Kimball estate, known in Colonial times as Windmill Hill. After his friend Benjamin Stickney Cable was killed in an automotive accident, Richard Teller Crane Jr. purchased the land and donated $145,000 to the hospital construction fund.
136 County Rd., the Francis Henry Richardson house (1902) - The artist Francis Henry Richardson built a house for his family in Ipswich after studying at the Academie Julian in France. In Ipswich he concentrated on landscapes and only a few portraits. His exhibitions included the National Academy of Design, Pennsylvania Academy, Detroit Museum of Art, Salamagundi Club and others, receiving the Philadelphia Art Society medal in 1902 and the Boston Art Club Purchase Prize in 1903.
175 County Road, the William Manning house (1820) - The large Federal-era house on the campus of the First Presbyterian Church in Ipswich was built by William Manning in 1820 after he purchased a portion of the ancient Potter family Farm.
197 County Rd.,”Applegate” (1875) - “Applegate,” was owned by Ruth Appleton Tuckerman and her husband, Charles. Four houses were built along the north side of Waldingfield Road by grandchildren of Gen. James Appleton.
240 County Road, the Proctor Estate, New England Biolabs (1895) - The former James H. Proctor estate was built in 1895. The Catholic Church purchased the property, where it was used as a novitiate by the Oblates of Mary Immaculate, and later became the Catholic school Don Bosco. Since 1999 the Proctor estate has been the home of New England Biolabs, which provides walking trails open to the public.
66 County Road, the Southside Store (c. 1836) - The South Green also had a grocery store for many years. Originally known as the Goodhue Grocery, in the 20th Century it was called the South Side Store. The store closed in 1980.
68 County Road, Calvin Locke’s Folly (1836) - Otis Holmes sold this lot to Calvin Locke in 1835 (286:247)., and this impressive Greek Revival house was built a year later. The size of the house and the tall Greek columns on the front exceeded his resources such that the house came to be called "Locke's Folly." Locke was an overseer in Augustine Heard's lace factory, the Ipswich Manufacturing Company.
70 County Road, the John Hayes house (1910) - The hip roof , the generous front porch and extended eaves of this 1910 house draw from the Arts and Crafts architectural styles of the early 20th Century. The Hayes Tavern at Depot Square was known as the Hayes Hotel in the mid-Twentieth Century.
72 County Road, the David Giddings house (1828) - The site of the David Giddings house was bequeathed by Jonathan Wade to his grandson Nathaniel in 1749. In 1828 Wade sold the lot and the shop standing on it to David Giddings, who enlarged it to a two-story dwelling facing the Green.
76 County Road, the Asa Wade house (1831) - This building is similar to the house next door, which was built by Samuel Wade, who may have built both houses. Asa Wade is buried in the Old South Cemetery across the street.
78 County Road, the Samuel Wade house (1831) - In 1831, Samuel Wade purchased a lot and built this house as his home. In the early-mid Twentieth Century, the Samuel Wade house became the Southside Nursing Home, with 20 rooms & 13 bathrooms. It was restored as a private residence by the Marchand family, who made it their home in the 1960’s and 70’s.
79 County Road, the Manning-Kinsman house (1820) - The house was built in approximately 1820, and was moved back on the lot when the Verizon telephone company building was constructed in the 20th Century.
82 County Road, the Brown – Manning house (1835) - The widow Judith Manning and single woman Mary Brown had the house at 82 County Rd. built for them in 1835. It remained in the family until the late 19th century.
83 County Road, the Rogers-Brown-Rust House (1665-1723) - The house at 83 County Road is believed to be three houses joined together, at least one from the First Period. In 1836 the house and lot were conveyed to the South Parish as a church site. Asa Brown bought the house and removed it to its present location.
84 County Road, the Reverends Daniel Fitz and Moses Welch house (1829) - The house was used as a joint residence by Rev. Moses Welch, who assumed the pastorate of Linebrook Church in 1831, and the Rev. Daniel Fitz, who assumed the pastorate of the nearby South Church in 1827 upon the death of the Rev. Joseph Dana
85 County Road, the John Wade house (1810) - The John Wade house was built at the far end of South Green in 1810, but was moved further down County Road in 1948 to make room for the South Green Burial Ground expansion. This house bears remarkable similarity to the homes of housewrights Asa Wade and Samuel Wade, both still standing in their original locations on County Rd. facing the South Green.
86 County Road, the Burnham – Brown house (1775) - This house was built in 1775 on a lot on Candlewood Rd., probably by Thomas Burnham. In 1821 Nathan Brown bought the house from Oliver Appleton, and 3 years later he removed it to its present site on County Rd. Brown and others enlarged and remodeled the old Burnham House, but some 18th century features remain.
88 County Road, the Col. Nathaniel Wade House (1727) - This house was built in 1727 by Captain Thomas Wade. On September 25, 1780, his son Nathaniel Wade received an urgent correspondence from General George Washington that General Arnold had "gone to the enemy" and to take command at West Point. The house is protected by a preservation covenant with the Ipswich Historical Commission.
90 County Road, the William Wade house (1822) - Captain William Wade was a carpenter by trade, and the house features an attractive stairway and handrails in the front entry hall. The Wade family dominated this stretch along County Road.
92 County Road, the Nathaniel Wade house and shop (1810) - The Nathaniel Wade house and shop at 92 County Rd. was constructed in 1810. Many of the 19th Century houses on the east side of County Rd. were built by the Wade family, many of whom were contractors.
94 County Road, Jesse and John Wade’s shop (1888) - Jesse and John Wade were in a long line of builders from the Wade family, who constructed several houses on the east side of County Rd. This 1888 house is said to have been their shop.
96 County Road, Old South Church Parsonage (1860) - This charming small house with elaborate Italianate trim was built in 1860 as the parsonage for the South Congregational Church, which was at the head of the South Green. The church burned in 1977. The Rev. Thomas Franklin Waters and his family lived in this home.
10 County Street, the Dennis – Dodge House (1740) - The 1740 Dennis-Dodge house was owned by Captain John Dennis, whose father Thomas Dennis was a renowned woodworker and owned a home across the street. A succession of Dennis family members retained this property. Captain Ignatius Dodge (1816 - 1901) inherited the house. In the early 1800's, Eunice Hale maintained a school in the building.
11 County Street, the Bennett – Caldwell house (1725) - Joseph Bennett built this early Second Period house in 1725. In 1818 the house was sold to Capt. Sylvanus Caldwell, who engaged in maritime trade along the coast from Massachusetts to Maine for a half century.
15 County Street, the Rev. Levi Frisbie house (1788) - This house at 15 County Street was built in 1788 for Rev. Levi Frisbie, pastor of First Church in Ipswich. He continued in the pastorate thirty years until his death in 1806, succeeded by the Rev. David Tenney Kimball.
16 County Street, the Abraham Knowlton house (1726) - The original house is believed to have been constructed between 1725 and 1740. The house was in poor condition and in 2003 was restored by Ipswich architect Matthew Cummings. It is identical in construction to the Dennis-Dodge house a few doors away.
17 County Street, Daniels Shoe Factory (1843) - This house was built in 1843 near the EBSCO dam as Hoyt’s Veneer Mill. It was moved in 1859 to its present location where it became the Perkins & Daniels Stocking Factory. Farley & Daniels succeeded in 1884.
25 County Street, the J. Caldwell house (c 1860) - The house at 25 County Street in Ipswich was built in approximately 1860 on a corner of the former Ipswich Jail grounds. The 1872 Ipswich map shows the owner as J. Caldwell. In 1910 the owner is N. S. Kimball.
26 County Street, the John M. Dunnels house (1867) - This home was constructed in approximately 1867 by J. M. Dunnels, who was a "tin and sheet iron worker" with a shop downtown.
3 County Street, the William Treadwell house (1850) - The house does not appear on the Ipswich maps through 1910, at which time this tiny parcel was owned by Dr. Russell. It may be a wing of the Captain William Treadwell house which was removed from the other corner of East Street in order to widen the intersection.
31 County Street, Ascension Memorial Episcopal Church (1875) - The Ascension Memorial Episcopal Church on County Street was designed by famed architect James Renwick Jr. (1818-1895) and is considered “American Gothic Revival” in style. Construction was begun in 1869 and completed in 1875.
35 County St., the Lydia and Reuben Daniels house (1863) - The house was build by Reuben Daniels, surveyor and shoe manufacturer, and his wife Lydia.
45 County Street, the Amos Dunnels house (1823) - The Amos Dunnels house was constructed in 1823 on South Main St. and was moved to 45 County St. in the 20th Century.
47 County Street, the Benjamin Grant house (1723) - The Benjamin Grant House was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1980. It appears to have been originally built as a half house. Benjamin Grant was born in 1701 in Ipswich to Robert and Mary Grant, who emigrated from England. Benjamin married Anne Perkins in 1722, and was killed in the French and Indian War in 1756.
5 County Street, the Richard Rindge house (1718) - The First Period house at 5 County Street was originally on upper Summer St., moved to this location in the last half of the 19th Century.
7 County Street, the Thomas Dennis House (1663) - Shoreborne Wilson, a cooper, built a house and shop on this site about 1660. Thomas Dennis, the well-known master joiner, bought the property in 1663. The rear ell of the present house dates from that period, The 5-bay front section of the house dates to the 1750's.
9 County Street, the Benjamin Dutch house (1705) - This was built early in the 1700’s, and was owned by one of several men named Benjamin Dutch who owned and sold properties throughout town. The asymmetrical facade and timber frame are typical of First Period construction.
9 Green Street, the Elizabeth Holland house (1811) - The house on the southeast corner of County Street was built by Elizabeth Holland on Meeting House Green in 1811, and was moved to lot by John How Cogswell between 1872 and 1884.
11 Depot Square, Russell’s Lunch (circa 1900) - Arthur Honey Russell is said to have been responsible for making the Ipswich fried clam famous. Folks from other cities and towns on the North Shore came to Ipswich on the train or by trolley just to eat at Russell's on Depot Square.
10 East Street, the Nathaniel Harris house (1819) - Nathaniel Harris built his home in 1819 on a section of land from the Baker Newman property next door. His widow Elizabeth Staniford lived into her 90's. The county laid a pipe connecting a spring on this land to the house of corrections on Meetinghouse Green.
13 East St., Ignatius Dodge Shoe Manufacturing (b.1856) - On the 1856 map this appears to be the "Ignatius Dodge Shoe Shop." The 1910 Ipswich map shows #13 East Street is owned by "F. Lord."
14 East Street, the Baker – Newman house (1725) - John Baker obtained a section of the land extending down East Street to Spring Street, originally granted to Rev. Cobbet. John Baker Jr. sold eight acres with buildings including land on the hillside to Nathaniel Jones Jr. in 1742. Jones sold the house and lot to George Newman Jr., a weaver.
15 East Street: Dawson’s Bakery; James and Louise Glover house (c 1870) - The house at #15 East Street may have been a small shop before it was converted to residences. The 1872 map shows the building at this location as “Dawson Bakery.”
16 East Street, the Lakeman-Johnson house (c 1840) - This house was built between 1837 and 1846 when mariner Richard Lakeman sold the land “with the dwelling house and other buildings thereon,” to his brother, Captain Ebenezer “Eben” Lakeman. The house has an Asher Benjamin doorway and has a preservation agreement with Historic New England.
18 East Street, the Baker-Dodge house (1727) - This house was built by John Baker III, and was purchased by Mary Dennis Dodge in 1818. The house is protected by a preservation agreement between the owners and the town of Ipswich.
2 East Street, the Robert Jordan house (1863) - The “Old Brick,” the home of esteemed Col. Francis Wainwright was at this location in the 17th and early 18th Century. The original Methodist Church meeting house was erected here in the 1830's. Robert Jordan, a clothing merchant, bought this lot in 1862, and built this fine Italianate home. Dr. George C. Bailey was the next owner, but then built the large Victorian house at 48 Market Street in 1887.
21 East Street, the George Russell house (c 1870) - The first known owner of this house was George Russell, (1823-1884) a mason. His parents were Daniel Russell and Mary Lakeman.
22 East Street, the Moses Fellows House (1873) - Thomas Sweet sold this lot to Moses A. Fellows and Sarah G. Hodgkins in 1873, and Fellows built this Italianate house shortly thereafter. Fellows owned a lumber yard on Water Street.
25 East St, the Stanwood-Willcomb house (1830) - Stephen Stanwood erected this house in 1830 for a fulling mill. Sheep grazed on the bare hills above East and High Streets, and the mill used water that ran from the springs. This is said to be the first house in town to have running water. Fred Willcomb and his brother Lewis E. Willcomb operated a store here at Willcomb's Corner.
26 East Street, the Staniford – Polly Dole -John Updike house (1687-1720) - Part of this house was constructed in 1687 for Deacon John Staniford and his wife Margaret. It acquired its current form in 1720. This was the home of writer John Updike, and has a preservation agreement with the Ipswich Historical Commission.
27 East Street, the Widow Elizabeth Caldwell house (1740-1755) - Joseph Wait sold this lot to Elizabeth Caldwell, widow of Thomas, in 1829. She moved a house from another site onto her property. The rear two story wing is believed to be the older house, joined together when the house was moved. Structural evidence suggest a construction dates of about 1740 to 1775 for the two sections.
3 East Street, the James W. Perkins house and Provisions (1860) - This house was built between 1856 and 1872. Samuel Hunt purchased the ancient Day-Dodge house at the corner of North Main and East Streets on Feb. 14, 1849 with three lots adjoining. The 1856 Ipswich map shows Burroughs Machine Shop at this location. The 1896 Ipswich Business Directory lists J.W. Perkins, Provisions and Meat Market at this location on East Street.
30 East Street, the Francis Jordan house (c 1665) - A massive 17th Century timber frame from the First Period of construction in the English colonies is fully displayed throughout this house.
33 East St., the Old Store (1830) - The house at 33 East St. was built in approximately 1830 near the corner of East and County Streets for use as a store by James Quimby, and was moved to this location in 1850 by Joseph Wait.
35 East Street, the Luther Wait house (1810) - In 1872 Luther Wait removed the County jailor's house to this location. Wait served on several town boards including the school committee and as town assessor, and served two terms as postmaster.
37 East Street, the Stephen Baker house (1834) - The small two story three bay colonial at 37 East Street was built in 1834 by Stephen Baker Jr. as a storehouse for his grocery. The lot was also used a lumber yard and Baker opened a way to the river, constructing a wharf at the end of the lane.
38 East Street, the John Harris house (1742) - Thomas Harris purchased land along East Street in 1665. His son John was deputy sheriff and transported accused witches to Salem for trial. This sizable Georgian house was built by John Harris, 3rd or 4th generation. The property descended to Capt. Stephen Baker, whose heirs owned into the 20th Century.
4 East St., the old Methodist Parsonage, 1830 - The house at 4 East Street was constructed about 1830 and served as the Methodist Parsonage. The first sanctuary of the Methodist Church was located next door at the location of the present-day Ipswich Inn.
42 East Street, the Joseph Hovey house (1850) - Joseph Hovey bought a lot in 1843 from the estate of Thomas Boardman, and an adjoining lot in the rear at about the same time from J. H. Boardman. The old Boardman house was torn down about 1850, and Joseph Hovey built a house on the lot, which appears in the 1856 map.
44 East Street, the John Roberts house (c 1870) - The Ipswich Historical Commission records the date of construction as 1856/1872 by John Roberts, through the marriage of Mary Elizabeth Hovey (1843-1928) to John Roberts (1824-1903).
48 East St., the Tyler Caldwell house (1860) - Tyler Caldwell was "a man of thrift and industry, and amassed a comfortable property; respected in the town and well-beloved in the neighborhood where he lived."
55 East St. (c 1922) - This house is said to have been constructed from the front left section of Asa Lord's store when it was removed from Lord Square in the 1920s.
59 East Street, the Daniel Ringe house (1719) - The small lot fronting on East Street was sold to Daniel Ringe, Oct. 16, 1719 . It was sold to John Holland, Nov. 6, 1742. Daniel Ringe was an early settler of Ipswich, and as a young man worked as a cow-herd. Captain Ringe was a soldier in the Indian wars and became a prominent citizen of Ipswich.
6 East Street, the Daniel Russell house (1818) - In 1818 Daniel Russell bought the land with the old Norton - Cobbet house on it, the home of two of the first pastors of the First Church in Ipswich. Daniel Russell, the son of Henry and Mary Lord Russell. Daniel Russell was born in Ipswich on August 14, 1767 and died on December 29 1837, having lived 70 years. His wife was Sarah Sutton.
62 East Street, the Treadwell-Wainwright House (1691 / 1726) - Capt. John Wainwright bought 3 1/2 acres from Nathaniel Treadwell in 1710 and built part of this fine Georgian mansion, which features elaborate panels and molding, re-used summer beams, and a massive early fireplace.
7 East Street, the Sadie Stockwell house (1888) - The heirs of Samuel Hunt sold the building lot to Sadie B. Stockwell and her husband Frank Stockwell, dentist on April 27, 1888 and she built the house on the lot in the same year. The Queen Anne shingle-style home of the Victorian era is not common in Ipswich.
76 East Street, the Hodgkins – Lakeman House (c. 1690) - William Hodgkins built this house before 1700. In 1718 he sold the dwelling to Archelaus Lakeman and the property remained in the Lakeman family for almost 200 years. The Lakemans were a sea-faring family with extensive wharves and warehouses on the property and on the Town Wharf across the street.
78 East Street, the James Glover house (c 1860) - James Glover came to Ipswich from England with a long warp weaving machine about 1845. He worked at the Lower Mills until he opened his own textile factory ca. 1860. He manufactured hairnets, knit goods, hoods, and shawls. Glover employed 40-50 hands in the Civil War period, but by 1897 the mill was closed.
79 East St., Curran house (c 1870) - The 1872 Ipswich map shows a house with this configuration with the name T. Curran. Two acres "with the buildings thereon" at or near this location was sold for $100 by Timothy and Julia Curran in 1859 to Israel K. Jewett, who already owned adjoining property.
8 East Street, the Captain Matthew Perkins house (1701) - Winner of the 1991 Mary Conley Award, this well-preserved 1st Period house sits on a former orchard lot that was sold in 1701 by Major Francis Wainwright to Matthew Perkins, a weaver and soldier. In 1719 Perkins opened an inn and tavern in this house, "at the sign of the blue anchor."
80 East Street, the Perkins – Hodgkins House (c 1700) - The Perkins-Hodgkins house is believed to have been built in 1700 on the foundation of the earlier Jacob Perkins home. The house has been greatly expanded over the years, but the original asymmetrical structure continues to anchor the corner with Jeffreys Neck Road.
9 East Street, the Foster Russell house (1856) - Samuel Hunt sold a half acre at the foot of his lot on East St. to Foster Russell and D. P. Nourse, May 9, 1855, and Mr. Russell and his wife Martha Hodgkins built this house.
15 Elm Street, the Old Town Hall Annex (c 1920) - The brick building at 15 Elm Street was known officially as the Town Hall Annex, constructed in the early 20th Century. It is presently the Ipswich Police Department.
16 Elm Street, the Baker – Tozer house (1835) - Samuel S. Baker, active in real estate, bought the lot at 16 Elm Street and built this house in 1835. He sold it to shoemaker William S. Tozer (1804-1860) in 1841. The house is said to be three combined structures, one having been moved from a different location.
22 Elm St. (c. 1840) - The house at 22 Elm Street sits behind other houses on the street, its foundation resting in the Ipswich River. The Ipswich assessors site gives the date of construction as 1840. The 1856 Ipswich map indicates that this building may have originated as worker housing or part of […]
4 Elm Street, Condon’s Grocery - This building was constructed in 1847 and served for many years as T. E. Condon's grocery. During the Great Depression this was the "Free Store."
104 Essex Rd., the Joseph and Abigail Marshall farm (1869) - Part of the early Argilla Farm of Samuel Symonds was owned by John Choate and his heirs, and later by Nathaniel Kinsman and his heirs. The large house and barns were erected while the farm was owned by Joseph and Abigail Marshall.
68 Essex Rd., the Levi Brown house (1832) - George W. Heard sold an acre and a half to Levi Brown, who had bought a half acre from his father, March 21, 1832. He built a dwelling and other buildings.
94 Essex Road, the William G. Horton house (c 1900) - This house first appears in the 1910 Ipswich map. The old grain elevator at Tedford's Lumber was once operated by William G. Horton Grain, Flower and Feed. The house today is owned by Maplecroft Farm.
16 Fellows Road, the Ruth Fellows house (1714) - Joseph Fellows acquired the farm by inheritance and purchase. He served in the King Philip war and married Ruth Fraile on April 19 1675. He died before 1693, and Mrs. Ruth Fellows died on April 14 1729.
24 Fellows Road, the Fellows – Appleton House (b 1856) - The earliest section of the Joseph Fellows – Daniel W. Appleton House at 24 Fellows Road was built before 1693. It was moved to this location and greatly altered in 1832 by Daniel W. Appleton.
44 Fellows Road, the Joseph Fellows Jr. house (1734) - The corner of Upland Road was known in early days as Fellows Lane, and it was near this corner, perhaps on this lot, that William Fellows, who settled in Ipswich in 1635, is believed to be buried. This house was constructed in 1734 by Joseph Fellows Jr.
56 Fellows Road, the Josiah Brown house, (1812) - The pasture land along Fellows and Candlewood Roads was purchased in the mid-17th Century by John Brown. His descendant Josiah Brown built this house in 1812. For over two hundred and forty years after John Brown bought the farm, it remained by inheritance in the Brown family through successive generations.
Fox Creek Road
“Labor in Vain House,” c.1720. (Labor in Vain-Fox Creek private road) - The house on Fox Creek Rd. known as the Labor in Vain Farm House was built around 1720, but has some late First Period features.
12 Green Street, the Andrew Burley house (1688) - Andrew Burley bought this lot in 1683 and built a house shortly thereafter. He became a wealthy merchant and updated the house with fine Georgian features. Burley was a justice of the Sessions Court and was elected representative to the General Court in 1741. Capt. John Smith purchased the house in 1760 from the estate of Andrew Burley’s widow Hannah and operated it as Smith's Tavern.
18 Green Street, the Isaac Stanwood Jr. house (1812) - Captain Isaac Stanwood was born in Ipswich, May 2, 1755. On January 24, 1775, he was enrolled among the Ipswich minute-men, and marched as a private in Captain Nathaniel Wade's company, in the alarm of April 19, 1775.
2 Green Street, the John Perkins house (1860) - This corner was originally part of a larger lot owned by General Denison. Captain Treadwell and Nathaniel Lord Jr. were later owners, and then Mr. John Perkins, who built this house.
30 Green Street, the Ipswich Town Hall (1935) - A large jail/insane asylum was built on the Green Street location in 1828. It was torn down in 1934 to make room for a new high school. The building now serves as the Ipswich Town Hall. The prison workhouse still stands and was remodeled into a senior residence center.
4 Green Street, the William H. Graves house (1852) - William H. Graves was born in 1821. At the age of 27 he was a cordwainer, and married Hannah S. Dodge.
9 Green Street, the Elizabeth Holland house (1811) - The house on the southeast corner of County Street was built by Elizabeth Holland on Meeting House Green in 1811, and was moved to lot by John How Cogswell between 1872 and 1884.
10 Hammatt St., the old South Church Vestry (1857) - This house was originally the Vestry for the South Church, and sat on South Main Street near the South Green. It was moved to its current location and converted into a two-family dwelling.
42 Heartbreak Road, the Thomas and John Low house (frame before 1684) - The first parts of this house were built before 1684 by Thomas Low Sr. or by his son John Low. This house is an example of a First Period home, with an overhang at the gable end like those on the side of the Whipple House.
45 Heartbreak Road, the James Burnham house (1690) - The first period home was built in 1690 and has been remodeled greatly. It is an example of the distinct architecture that flowered in Ipswich in the late 17th century
1 High Street, the Nathaniel Rogers Old Manse (1727) - The house was constructed for the Rev. Nathaniel Rogers in 1727 by Ipswich cabinet-maker, Capt. Abraham Knowlton. In the early 1900's the building was known as "ye Olde Burnham Inn". This house is protected by a preservation agreement with the Ipswich Historical Commission.
100 High Street, the Joseph Fowler house (1720 – 1756) - Joseph Fowler, a carpenter bought the lot in 1720. Records indicate that a house may have existed before Fowler obtained it. The house has a 1-1/2 story, gambrel roof with a central chimney and exposed “gunstock” posts.
103 High Street, the William Merchant house (1670) - The building dates to approximately 1670, but the right half may contain timbers from a previous structure on this site which was built in 1639. That simple story and a half cottage is believed to have been built by William Merchant who arrived in Ipswich with John Winthrop and the first settlers. The section on the left was added in 1672.
104 High Street, the John Kimball house (1715) - This is is one of three John Kimball houses along High Street, two said to have been built by the father, the third by the son. The 1st period house has a chamfered summer beam and wide plank tongue and groove sheathing. This house is protected by a preservation agreement between the owners and the Ipswich Historical Commission.
106 High St. the Caleb Kimball house (1715) - Caleb Kimball (1) was born in 1639 in Ipswich, the son of Richard Kimball and Ursula Scott. The owner has maintained the left inside as a First Period home, with exposed beams and a large fireplace. The right inside was updated with Georgian features, plaster ceilings and a Rumford fireplace.
108 High St., the Dow-Harris house (1735) - This dwelling began as a half house, two rooms in depth, and was constructed about 1735 for Margaret Dow and her second husband John Lull. The entry room retains its original interior casings. Additions date to the 19th Century.
110 High Street, the John Kimball Jr. house (1730) - John Kimball Sr. acquired this land in 1708. Kimball's son, John Jr. built the house and a barn. The eastern half is older, and its timbers were originally exposed. The driveway is the original High Street before the bridge was constructed in 1906.
112 High Street, Timothy Ross house, 1840 - When the Eastern Railroad was built in 1840, Timothy Ross was building a new house at this location. When the High Street bridge was constructed in the early 20th Century, the road curved in order to preserve the row of houses on the original High Street.
114 High Street, the Tibbets-Fowler house (1860) - In 1906 the High St. bridge was constructed which isolated this section of High St. from the rest of the roadway. This Greek Revival cottage is similar to several mid-19th Century houses in Ipswich.
115 High Street, the Baker – Sutton house (1725) - The widow of cowherd Haniel Bosworth sold this lot with a dwelling in 1702 to William Baker, who built this fine early Georgian house. The pilastered chimney and elaborate Connecticut Valley door frame were added in the 20th Century.
116 High Street, the Samuel Rutherford house (1860) - Samuel P. Rutherford built the house shortly after purchasing the lot in 1860. Joseph Martel purchased the building in 1906, the year that the High St. bridge was constructed which isolated this former section of High Street.
117 High Street, Brown’s Manor (1886) - Abraham Lord sold 30 acres to George A. Brown on Nov. 6, 1886. The Browns built this imposing brick Mansard with white alternating quoins, a fine entrance porch, and a round-headed, double-leaf door.
118 High Street, the Aaron Rutherford house (1860) - Aaron A. Rutherford purchased the land in 1860 and built the house soon afterward. He was the owner of the property until after 1914. In 1906 the High St. bridge was constructed which isolated this section of High St. from the rest of the roadway. This is a simple foursquare house and once featured Italianate trim on the doorway with a bracketed hood.
12 High Street, the William Russell House (1890) - This is a Queen Anne period house built in 1890, relatively unusual in Ipswich. The sitting room contains a fireplace decorated with sea serpents. According to local tradition, this house had the first inside bathroom in Ipswich.
124 High Street, the Joseph King house (1856) - The house was moved to its present location when the High Street bridge was built in 1906. The King House was constructed in an older Federal style, and originally had a frontispiece with fan and sidelights.
126 High Street, Burnham’s Antiques (c 1920) - Ralph W. Burnham owned several Ipswich antiques businesses at the turn of the 20th Century. He employed experts to repair and restore antique rugs, at High Street store, which was later used as a marine supplies store and still stands today.
13 High Street, the Joseph Willcomb house (1669-1693) - John Edwards, a tailor, acquired the property in 1668. The earliest section was built by Edwards or his son when he inherited the property in 1693. Edwards was one of several Tithingmen appointed by the Selectmen “to inspect disorderly persons. Joseph Willcomb bought the house prior to 1762.
14 High Street, the George Lord house (1857) - George Lord followed his father Nathaniel Lord as Register of Deeds in the County office that is now the Odd Fellows building, and built this house in 1857.
16 High Street, the Jacob Manning house (1818) - Jacob Manning in 1818 built this house at 16 High Street in a small space between the Poor House and the Lord House next door. That former Poor House was later torn down.
17 High Street, the Thomas Lord house (after 1658) - In 1634 this lot was granted to Robert Lord, one of the settlers of Ipswich, and was deeded to Thomas Lord, a cordwainer who built the early section of this house in 1658. The oak frame encloses a two-room over-two-room house. The saltbox leanto is not integral, indicating that it was added later.
19 High Street, the John Blake house (1885) - This house is not show in the 1884 map of Ipswich, but is shown on the 1887 Ipswich Birdseye map. In the 1910 map, the owner is John A. Blake, who also owned the Thomas Lord house next door at 17 High St.
21 High Street, the Haskell – Lord house (c 1750) - This fine house was built circa 1750 by Mark Haskell, an Ipswich cabinet-maker. Haskell served as a Light House Volunteer during the Revolutionary War. Daniel Lord married Eunice, the daughter of Mark Haskell, and Haskell conveyed to him the house and an acre of land in 1767, which is the first registered deed.
24 High Street, the J.W. Gould House (b 1850) - This house was built on a part of the original estate Nathaniel Lord estate. The earliest known owner is a Caldwell, but it was in the possession of the Gould family by 1872. The house was renovated extensively in 2014.
248 High Street, the William Spiller house (c 1838) - Nehemiah Jewett Jr. owned ten acres of land and married Sally Jewett, October 22, 1795. He built a dwelling on the lot. Jewett's heirs sold the house and acreage to William B. Spiller in December, 1838. The architecture of the house is Greek Revival.
26 High Street, the Philip Call house (1659) - This 2-story timber-frame First Period house was built by cordwainer Philip Call about 1659, enlarged around 1725. In 1967, the owners uncovered a chamfered 17th century summer beam and field paneling behind Victorian-era walls. The house has a preservation agreement with the Ipswich Historical Commission.
27 High Street, the Edward Browne House - Edward Brown was the original owner of this site in 1639, and the east side of the present house is believed to have been constructed under his ownership around 1650 as a one-room over-one-room floor plan. In the mid-18th century the west side of the house was built. Architectural features of this house are protected by a preservation agreement between the owners and the Ipswich Historical Commission.
280 High Street, the Charles and Fostina Guilford house (1880) - Charles and Fostina Guilford were wed at Ipswich on July 28, 1878. Daniel S. Appleton built the house in 1879 and sold it to Charles, a farmer, the following year. The building remained in the Guilford family into the 20th Century.
285 High Street, the Daniel Nourse house (1809) - Daniel Nourse, a farmer, bought the property in 1790 and built the present house in 1809. This was the home of John W. Nourse, farmer, civil engineer, and local historian who uncovered hundreds of Native American artifacts in his fields. The Nourse family cemetery is located nearby. A milestone from the Old Bay Road is in the basement wall. This is one of the finest Federal-era houses in Ipswich Village and has fallen into decay through neglect.
29 High Street, the Daniel Brown Smith house (1819) - Daniel B. Smith, cabinet maker, received a small section at the eastern edge of his father's lot, and built a house upon it.
290 High Street, the Jacob Pickard house, (1812) - Jacob Pickard, Jr. of Rowley, married Tabitha Jewett in 1788, purchased and inherited land at this location and built this house. He purchased the Jewett sawmill on Dow Brook in 1816, and with his sons, Isaac and Nathaniel, "operated the mill with the old-fashioned up-and-down saw until the later half of the century."
296 High Street, the Oliver Bailey house (1831) - Oliver Bailey, a shoe maker who also operated a small farm at this house he built in 1860. He married Judith Howe of Rowley, and their son Eban Howe Bailey lived to be 100 years old, well-known for his popular spiritual musical compositions.
3 High Street, the John Gaines house (1725) - The John Gaines house at 3 High St. is a 1725 building remodeled in 1806 with Federal trim. The Gaines family in Ipswich are famous for the chairs they produced. The home also served for over one hundred years as the Episcopal rectory.This house has a preservation agreement with the Ipswich Historical Commission.
30 High Street, the Joseph Bolles house (1722) - Joseph Bolles, a carpenter bought this lot from Joseph Fowler with an acre of land and a house on it in 1722, which is the assumed date of this structure. This house began as a central chimney house, one room deep. Rooms were later added to the rear, and the roof rebuilt to cover the doubled house. The original oak frame is now thoroughly concealed, and second and third period trim dominate the house.
307 High Street, the Moses Jewett house (1759) - Moses Jewett married Elizabeth Bugg of Rowley. He was Captain of a Troop of Horse in Col. John Baker’s Regiment, which marched on the Lexington alarm, April 19, 1775 and also marched to Gloucester on November 29th of the same year.
310 High Street, the Stephen Pearson house (1808) - Stephen Pearson served under Benedict Arnold and after Arnold's treason under Colonel Nathaniel Wade of Ipswich. From this farm he sold a wide variety of products including hides, shoes, and black walnuts. Pearson's granddaughter, Emily Pearson Bailey published a book of poems in the late 19th century.
311 High Street, the Amos Jewett house (1834) - Captain Moses Jewett purchased this land in the late 18th Century. His grandson Amos built the house in 1834 for his bride. His small shoe shop still stands on the property.
315 High Street, the Apphia Jewett house (1834) - The land in the vicinity of 315 High Street was owned by the Jewett family since it was purchased by Captain Moses Jewett in the third quarter of the 18th century. Olive Jewett married Captain George W. Howe of Rowley on November 26, 1835 and Captain Howe built upon the lot.
317 High Street, the Capt. George Washington Howe house (1850) - Olive Jewett, daughter of Moses Jewett, Jr., married Captain George Washington Howe of Rowley who built the present house. The 1907 barn was originally on the north side of the house near the road.
320 High Street, the Jonathan Crowell Fox heel factory (1888) - This is apparently the largest building constructed for the purpose of making shoe parts in Ipswich Village, although there were many smaller shops in the area in the 19th century. By 1910, the factory had gone out of business.
321 High Street, the Aaron Jewett – Mark Cate house (1780) - Aaron Jewett's daughter, Eliza married Mark Cate of Rowley, and for years it was known as the "Cate house." Sarah Houghton bought it in 1912 and opened a popular tea-room known as "The Rose Tree Inn."
327 High Street, the Annie Donovan house (1873, reconstructed in 1914) - The 1873 house at this location burned in 1914, but was rebuilt with the same appearance of a one-and-one-half story cottage of the 19th Century.
33 High Street, the John and Sarah Dillingham Caldwell house (1660/1709) - In 1654, Cornelius Waldo sold to John Caldwell for £26 the house and land he bought of Richard Betts. Caldwell removed the old house and built the present house with massive summer beams, a huge fireplace, a very substantial house of the 1660’s.
34 High Street, the White Horse Inn (1659 / 1763) - John Andrews, innkeeper sold this lot with a house in 1659. The First Period structure was greatly altered and expanded after its purchase by Jeremiah Lord in 1763, and took its present appearance around 1800. It stayed in the Lord family into the 20th Century.
37 High Street, Lord – Baker House (1720) - The house is believed to have been built by Robert Lord III in 1720. The property continued in the Lord family until 1775, when Samuel Baker, felt-maker and hatter, purchased it. This early 2nd period house is protected by a preservation agreement between the owners and the Ipswich Historical Commission.
38 High Street, the Joseph N. Caldwell house (c 1875) - Nathaniel Caldwell purchased by public auction the property of the late John Lord on December 20, 1861, and transferred to Joseph N. Caldwell half an acre with buildings on it on December 17, 1861.
39 – 41 High Street, the Daniel Lummus house (1686) - This house has elements dating to 1686 but was significantly rebuilt in 1746. Jonathan Lummus bequeathed to his son Daniel "a small piece of land out of my homestead adjoining to his homestead to make a convenient way to his barn." in 1728.
40 High Street, the William Caldwell House (1733) - William Caldwell built this house after purchasing the lot in 1733, The house remained in the Caldwell family into the 20th Century. Key features of the house include a large kitchen fireplace and exceptional period trim.
42 High Street, the Abner Harris house (c 1800) - This house was built by Abner Harris in 1800. The Ringe house that formerly stood on this lot is said to have been moved to Central St.
43 High Street, the Fitts- Manning-Tyler house (1767) - This house is believed to have been built in 1767 at today’s 42 North Main Street. Sophia Tyler bought a lot on High St. in 1873 and removed the Fitts house to the property. Located between the Daniel and Jonathan Lummus houses, the three properties are on land that was originally granted to Thomas Dudley, governor of Massachusetts for four years, and Ann Bradstreet, America’s first poet.
44 High Street, the Francis Goodhue house (circa 1800) - This house displays refined Federal-era features indicating the late 18th or early 19th Century for its construction. The barn and the lower level of this house may be half a century older.
45 High Street, the John Lummus house (1712) - Jonathan Lummus, who served in King Philip’s War in 1675 was appointed a tithing man by the town in 1700. Lummus bought Captain Symon Stacy’s land and dwelling on High Street in 1712. This parcel had originally been granted to Thomas Dudley, Governor of Massachusetts. The house underwent a careful restoration by Phillip Ross in 1964.
48 High Street, Samuel W. Baker house (1852) - The straw-roofed Baker house that stood on the corner of High St. and Mineral St was razed in 1849 and replaced with the current structure.
52-54 High Street, the Kingsbury – Lord – Harris house (after 1716) - Although in 1660, Henry Kingsbury sold a house on or near this lot to Robert Lord, the present house probably dates to after John Lord gained possession in 1716, based on architectural observations.
57 High Street, the Stone – Rust – Abraham Lummus house (c 1750) - This cape saltbox was built by Robert Stone and has many original features, including vertical feather edge sheathing. William Rust bought the house in 1851 and his heirs occupied the estate into the 20th century. The separate workshop/barn on the northwest corner is believed to be a former cobbler shop, once connected to the house.
6 High Street, the Joseph Ross house (1884) - This Victorian home was built by Joseph Ross, who designed the country's first movable span bridge, which he patented in 1849 at the age of 26. His horizontally folding drawbridge became the most common railroad bridge type in the Boston area.
61 High Street, the Timothy B. Ross house, c 1870 - The house at 61 High Street was constructed in approximately 1870. Abutting the cemetery abutted on the east, the owner was Timothy B. Ross, a teacher in the Ipswich schools.
66 High Street, the John Harris-Mark Jewett house (1795) - This house was built in 1795 by John Harris. In 1784 John Heard convinced the town that if it would buy John Harris' previous home at the corner of High and Manning, he would provide $400 annually for the care of the poor.
68 High Street, the Wood – Lord house (c 1740) - After her husband Daniel disappeared in 1727 at Penobscot Bay after being attacked by Indians, the court allowed Martha Ringe to marry John Wood before the customary three years had passed "in order to advance her circumstances." It was owned by Nathaniel Lord and his heirs in the 19th Century.
73 High Street, the Nathaniel Lord house (C 1720) - This house is named after Nathaniel Lord who spent 36 years as the Register of Probate in the Ipswich Court. The western half of this house predates the eastern side and may have 17th Century elements.
77 High Street, the John Kimball house (1680) - Richard Kimball owned this lot in 1637. The property passed to John Kimball, and the present house dates from the time of his ownership. It belonged to the Lord family through the 19th century.
79 High Street, the Thomas H. Lord house (c 1835) - The ancient Joseph Lord house was at the approximate location of the present Thomas H. Lord house, which was owned at the beginning of the 20th Century by descendants of Joseph Lord. This house appears to have been built between 1814 and 1835.
8 High Street, Frederick and Sally Ross house (1887) - Fred G. Ross was a director of the Joseph Ross Corporation, founded by his father who lived next door. The company contracted large construction projects in the Boston area.
82 High Street, the John Brewer house (1680) - John Brewer came to Ipswich with his father Thomas Brewer who is shown living in Ipswich in 1639. Town records show that in 1662 the town constables were ordered to pay John Brewer 20 schillings, charges he was due “about constructing the fort”. John Brewer Sr. died on June 23, 1684.
83 High Street, the Isaac Lord house, 1696 (?) – 1806 - This house was in the Lord family for several generations. The right side is possibly the 17th Century home of Richard Kimball. Boards and timbers from the 1771 Jail on Meeting House Green were used when the house was enlarged in 1806. The house is currently undergoing extensive renovation.
84 High Street, the John Smith house (c 1830) - This house first appears on the 1832 map of Ipswich, in the possession of John Smith. In 1958 the house was purchased by Wilbur Trask, Many of his photos are featured on this site.
85 High Street, the Elizabeth and Phillip Lord house (1774) - This house was built about 1774 by Phillip Lord when he married the widowed Elizabeth Kimball Warner who owned the property. In 1832, the house was acquired by Benjamin Fewkes, who smuggled the first lace stocking machine into this country from England in 1818. He set up his hosiery shop In the rear of the house.
87 High Street, the Sewall Jewett house (1830) - The heirs of John Lord sold the lot at 87 High St. to Sewall P. Jewett in 1830, which is the year in which the house is believed to have been built. At one time, this side of High Street was lined with homes owned by members of the Jewett Family.
88-90 High Street, the Shatswell-Tuttle house (right side by 1690 / left,1806) - The oldest section of the Tuttle – Lord – Shatswell house was built before 1690 for Deacon John Shatswell, who joined the Ipswich settlement in 1633 with his wife and four children. It remained in the family and was the home of Col. Nathaniel Shatswell, famous for his command of Union troops during the Battle of Harris Farm during the Civil War.
89 High Street, the Moses Jewett house (1830) - Moses Jewett was born in Ipswich, Mass., March 15, 1778 to John Cole Jewett and Elizabeth Smith, whose home stands at 93 High Street.
9 High Street, the Samuel Newman house (1762) - Joseph Newman built the house at 9 High Street in 1762. It was later owned by Samuel Newman. The present form of this house is composed of at least 3 structures, and the attic tells the story. It started out as a colonial home with a center chimney and center entrance.
93 High Street, the John Cole Jewett house (1813) - John Cole Jewett bought the High Street estate of Josiah Martin by 1767, when he was mentioned in a deed of an abutter. Jewett's heirs sold the property in 1813 to David Lord. Stylistic evidence indicates that the present house was built shortly before the 1813 transfer.
95 High Street, the Simon and Hannah Adams house (c. 1700) - Simon Adams, a weaver and veteran of King Philip's War, owned this property in 1707, according to a deed of the adjoining property. (20:15). This "half-house" was originally extended as a leanto over the rear rooms. In 1906 the front door and old sash were changed and around 1919 the east ell was added.
High Street Historic District - High Street was on the "Old Bay Road" and has the largest concentration of “First Period” houses in America The Old Burying Ground is on High Street near Lords Square.
Ipswich Clam Box, 246 High St. (1935) - Mr. Richard J. Greenleaf Jr. devised the design of this building constructed it with the aid of his brother-in-law and a carpenter. The design was based on the box in which fried clams were sold. The building was originally constructed of homasote and was painted silver with red […]
Old North Burying Ground - Established in 1634, the Old North Burying Ground in Ipswich, Massachusetts is one of the oldest cemeteries in North America.
1 Highland Avenue, the Wainwright School (1890) - The Wainwright School was constructed in 1890 at a cost of $7,700, and is identical to a schoolhouse that was once on Upper High Street, then was moved next to the Payne Schol at Lord Square and now sits at the entrance to Highland Cemetery. In 1926 when the Shatswell School was constructed on Green Street, several small schools were closed.
4 Highland Ave., the George & Elizabeth Spencer house (c 1910) - The house at 4 Highland Ave. was constructed by George Spencer after he acquired the lot from his father, George Spencer II in 1906.
6 Highland Ave., the George Spencer Sr. house (c 1880) - The house at 6 Highland Ave. was first owned by George Spencer. Maps and deeds indicated a construction date of approximately 1880.
3 Hovey Street, the John Kendrick house (1665) - John Kenrick, a cooper by trade, owned this lot in 1665,. He and his son sold it to to Thomas Staniford in 1706. Structural evidence supports a construction date of about 1670. Much of the trim dates from the late 18th or early 19th centuries.
6 Hovey Street, the Thomas Foulds Ellsworth house (1866) - Captain Thomas Ellsworth built this house after purchasing the old Mansfield lot in 1866. He sold the property to Howard C. Dodge in 1887.
Jeffreys Neck Road
2 Jeffreys Neck Road, the Merrill-Kimball house (1839) - Abigail Holland sold Ezra Merrill, a mariner, 3/4 of an acre in 1839 and he built the present house shortly thereafter. The house was conveyed to his daughter, Kate M. Kimball, upon his death in 1901 An interesting feature in this house is the presence of an oven on the second floor, suggesting that it may have been a 2-family house.
30 Jeffreys Neck Road, The Searle estate (1910) - This mansion was designed in the form of a Florentine villa, and the living room and dining room were decorated in a Louis XVI style. The house served as the Searle family summer home until 1919, and has been abandoned since the Sisters of Notre Dame de Namur purchased the property in 1960, and is in a state of decay.
31 Jeffreys Neck Road, the Nathaniel Scott house (1838) - The Treadwell family operated a farm at this location for nearly two hundred years. Nathaniel Scott succeeded and built this house in 1838. The residence features original fireplaces, ovens, beams, moldings and flooring.
47 Jeffreys Neck Rd., the Dodge house, Greenwood Farm (1870) - Greenwood Farm was a summer retreat for the Robert G. Dodge family. The 1694 Paine House sits behind, owned by the Trustees of Reservations.
47 Jeffreys Neck Road, the Paine house (1694) - This picturesque house remains on its original saltwater farm location. Three generations of the Paine family made their home here, From 1916, Greenwood Farm was a summer retreat for the Robert G. Dodge family, who used the Paine House as a guesthouse.
48 Jeffreys Neck Road, the Hannah Aspell house, 1854 - Hannah & Larry Aspell bought the lot and built a small 2 room building on it. In 1880 Hannah sold the property to the Lombard family as a summer residence. They added a barn, second floor and kitchen.
52 Jeffreys Neck Road, Ross Tavern – Lord Collins house (c 1690) - The house was moved from South Main Street in 1940 by David Wendel and restored to a high-style First Period appearance on the basis of observed physical evidence. The Collins-Lord house on High Street was moved and attached to the rear of this house.
52 Jeffreys Neck Road, Shatswell Planters Cottage (c 1646) - This small building on Strawberry Hill was moved from High Street and is believed to have been the original planters cottage of John Shatswell or his son Richard.
6 Jeffreys Neck Road, the Oliver L. Sanborn house (1855) - Deacon Francis Caldwell sold a lot measuring 61 ft. on the road and 290 ft. deep on Jeffreys Neck Road to Oliver L. Sanborn, October 25, 1854 who built this house in 1855. Sanborn's wie Mary was the daughter of Francis Treadwell on East Stret.
68 Jeffreys Neck Road, the Captain John Smith house (c 1740) - Richard Smith came from Shropham, Co Norfolk by 1641. His farm came into possession of Richard Smith. To his son, John, for £170, he conveyed an 18 acre pasture, bounded in part by the river, "with the new house and half the barn, standing at the south-east end of ye great field."
8 Kimball Ave, the W. B. Richards house (b 1910) - This house originally was at Lords Square, owned by W. B. Richards. In 1940 the home was moved over the High Street bridge to 8 Kimball Avenue where it still stands today, and Mutual built a new service station which now houses Tick's Auto Service.
Labor in Vain Road
10 Riverbank Lane, the John W. Newman house (c 1880) - The Ipswich Directory of 1896 shows John W. Newman as the owner of a Hardware store, and a painter. Hannah Ellen Lord, b. July 28, 1844, Ipswich, married John W. Newman on June 14, 1868. Sources: Recollections of a Childhood by Arthur Lord The Agawam manual and directory: […]
2 Labor in Vain Road, the McMahon house (b 1856) - Local legend is that the house was built by a sea captain, and it is haunted. The first owner of record is Elizabeth McMahon, daughter of Elizabeth Appleton and Thomas McMahon. She sold the house to James Galbraith in 1864. The owner on the 1910 Ipswich map is Henry Perry Willcomb.
29 Labor in Vain Rd., the Isaac Foss house (c 1900) - The extensive Foss estate was sold in parcels in 1921. The house appears to be a mix of Tudor and Richardson Romanesque.
42 Labor in Vain Road, the Arthur L. Sweetser house (c. 1898) - Arthur L. Sweetser, a Boston banker and his wife Laura Attwill built "Greystone" as their summer home. The architecture was influenced by Henry Hobson Richardson (1838-1886).
6 Riverbank Lane, the Henry Rodman Kenyon house (1902) - In 1899 Kenyon married the t pastel portraitist Caroline A. Savary and by 1901 Kenyon and his wife had settled at Ipswich in a home they called the Riverbank House. His small scenic paintings record the seasons in Ipswich.
66 Labor in Vain Rd., the Giddings-Gould-Weatherall house (1795-1850) - This house was the home of Joseph and Abigail Patch Cogswell who married in 1797. Their son David became an important figure in Wisconsin. For 48 years this was the home of Mary Weatherall
Agawam Heights - The Agawam Heights neighborhood, including Farragut Rd, Prescott Rd, Putnam Rd. and Lafayette Rd. was laid out at the end of the 19th Century on farmland above Topsfield Rd.
21 Lakemans Lane, the John Manning Farm (c 1825) - The house and barn at 21 Lakeman's Lane were constructed by John Manning 3rd who inherited the farm from his father. The barn features hand-hewn post and beam framing with gunstock corner posts, and may predate the house.
27 Lakeman’s Lane, the Benjamin Fellows house (c. 1719) - Benjamin Fellows' son Ephraim Fellows was a private in Captain Thomas Burnham's Company which marched on the alarm of April 19, 1775, fighting in the Battle of Lexington.
34 Lakeman’s Lane, the Wade-Kinsman- Cameron house (c 1860) - Deed searches suggest that Asa Wade's barn may have been converted into a residence by Mary or William Kinsman., expanded and modernized in 1939.
11 Liberty Street, the Levi Howe house (c 1870) - The descendants of Levi L. Howe, a farmer, owned this Gothic Revival cottage until 1953. Ken Savoie restored its appearance, and was the winner of the 1992 Mary Conley Award for historic preservation.
12 Liberty St. (c 1890) - The earliest Identified owner is Charles E. Brown, proprietor who owned the house by 1910. Brown and his son, Walter 6. Brown, operated a brick manufactory and contracting company.
14 Liberty Street, the George B. Brown house (1898) - The elegant Victorian house at 14 Liberty Street in Ipswich was built between 1896-98 by George B. Brown, who owned a grain mill on Washington Street.
15 Liberty St. (c 1870) - The earliest identified owner is C.W. Davis who owned the house by 1872. By 1884 the house had been sold to John W. Russell, a freight agent, who continued to own the house into the 1920’s.
16 Liberty St., the Martha Curtis house (1885) - The 1910 Ipswich map shows the owners as John Brown.
17 Liberty St., the Blaisdell house (c 1870) - The 1872 Ipswich map shows the owner of this house as "L. Blaisdell."
18 Liberty St. (1885) - The houses at #16 and # 18 Liberty Street were built between 1884 and 1887 by John A. Brown, a brick manufacturer and lumber dealer, probably in association with C.E. Brown & Son.
3 Liberty St., the Foster house (c 1880) - This house is shown in the 1872 and 1884 Ipswich maps owned by "S. Foster."
6 Liberty St. (c. 1890) - A house at 6 Liberty St. is shown in the 1893 Birdseye map and the 1910 Ipswich map, the owner is shown as "C. Caldwell." The modestly Italianate "Gable and Ell" form confirm the architectural period.
7 Liberty St., the John W. and Annie M. Lord house (C 1867) - The house at 7 Liberty St. first appears in the 1872. and was first owned by John W. Lord and his wife Annie M. Pingree.
9 Liberty St. (c. 1880) - This house first appears in the 1884 Ipswich map, with the owner shown as "Mrs. Foster." It is also shown in the 1893 Ipswich Birdseye Map, but not in the 1872 map. The owner in the 1910 Ipswich map is T. H. Lord.
Liberty Street - In the late 19th Century Washington Street was extended to Linebrook Road, and Liberty Street became its own street. Its houses date to 1850-1910.
Roberts house, 13 Liberty St. (c 1900) - The 1910 Ipswich map shows the owner of the house at 13 Liberty St. as D. A. Roberts.
The Brown house, 10 Liberty St. (c 1900) - The house at 10 Center Street is not in the 1884 Ipswich map, but appears in the 1910 Ipswich map under the name "C. Brown."
166 Linebrook Road, the William Lummus house (before 1832) - The present house at 166 Linebrook and the ancient Kozeneski barn that stood across the street were built by the Lummus family.
173 Linebrook Road, the Kozeneski farm (c 1900, demolished 2019) - On April 24, 2018, a demolition request was filed for the Kozeneski farmhouse at 173 Linebrook Road, The developer has offered assistance with removal costs.
290 Linebrook Rd. the Chapman-Small House - The two-story farmhouse was purchased by Bradley Palmer from the Small family in the early 20th century and became part of his large country estate. It formerly served as forest headquarters and residence for the park superintendent.
297 Linebrook Road, the Joseph Chapman house (1720) - This house is one of the oldest structures in Linebrook. The post and beam frame has summer beams with simple bevel chamfers, supporting the 1720 construction date.
306 Linebrook Road, the Deacon William Foster Conant house (1833) - Deacon William Foster Conant (b. 1802, d. 1886) was, like his father and grandfather, a well-respected member of the community, a deacon of Linebrook Church and captain in the Linebrook Militia. His business included lumbering, farming, and road-building.
315 Linebrook Road, the William Conant house (1777) - William Conant (1747-1826) amassed considerable real estate in Ipswich. His son William, known locally as “Young Squire Bill" was a selectman, assessor, and overseer for the Town of Ipswich for many years.
316 Linebrook Road, the John Peabody house (1850) - John Peabody married Eunice F. Conant, daughter of Joseph Conant and Ruth Guilford of Rowley. This house is believed to have been his cobbler’s shop. The house was recently enlarged and altered.
320 Linebrook Rd., the Daniel Conant house (1875) - This building was one of a cluster of farmers' or shoemakers' cottages constructed on this stretch of Linebrook Rd. in the second half of the 19th century, and may be the surviving ell of an earlier building. The Conant family was prominent on this stretch of Linebrook Road in the 19th Century.
341 Linebrook Road, the Lot Conant house (1717) - Architectural evidence, family history and deed research indicate that the oldest (center) part of this house was the home of Lot and Elizabeth Conant, the first of that family in Linebrook, constructed in 1717.
347 Linebrook Road, the Foster-Conant house (1840) - This building is one of several story-and-one-third 19th century cottages in Linebrook, a popular building type of the mid-19th century. Cyrus Conant, the second owner is said to have been the strongest man in town and "could cut and pile four cords of wood in a day."
375 Linebrook Rd., the Thomas Foster house (1800) - This area was settled by Fosters in the mid 17th century and remained in the family until the late 19th century, when it became part of the adjoining David Tullar Perley property. This is one of three traditional five-bay, two-floor Federal houses in Linebrook.
387 Linebrook Road, David Tulley Perley farm (1880) - David Tullar Perley owned the largest farm in the western part of the town. This house was built in 1850, but was ’embellished’ in the 1880’s to its Victorian appearance.
391 Linebrook Road, Linebrook Parish Church (1848) - Linebrook Parish was incorporated in 1746 by an act of the Massachusetts Legislature. The first sanctuary was located nearby on Leslie Road. It was dismantled and re-erected on this site in 1828. The building was taken down and the present church was built 20 years later.
392 Linebrook Road, the Emerson Howe house (1810) - Emerson Howe was a farmer and member of the Linebrook Militia. This house incorporates Georgian, Federal and Greek Revival features, and includes some reused First Period building materials.
393 Linebrook Rd., the David Tullar Perley house (1851) - This building is one of the most unique Greek Revival cottages in Linebrook, built by David Tullar Perley soon after he began to purchase land in the vicinity. Perley became the largest cattle broker in the county and built the fine Victorian house and barn at 387 Linebrook Rd.
395 Linebrook Rd., the Alvin T. Guilford house (1835) - This house is one of several story-and-one-third cottages constructed in Linebrook in the first half of the 19th century. Alvin T. Guilford, who lived here throughout the second half of the 19th century, was a farmer and shoemaker.
403 Linebrook Road, the Timothy Morse house (1817) - Timothy Morse Jr. (b. 1783) was a fine carpenter by trade and the house retains much of his finish work. Antique wide pine floors and period detail have been maintained.
41 Linebrook Road, Old Cross Farm (c 1717) - Originally a smaller house, constructed by John Denison the elder, it came into the possession of of Nathaniel Cross in 1761 and became a 25 -acre working farm. Several generations of the Cross family lived in this house, operating a weaver’s shop, fruit farm and poultry operation.
411 Linebrook Rd. (1938) - This house is said to have been constructed in 1938 to resemble the house at 419 Linebrook, incorporating similar features of the Greek Revival Vernacular style.
419 Linebrook Rd., the Eliza Howe Perley house (1840) - This house was constructed by William Perkins Perley shortly after his marriage to Eliza Howe, and was described as "beautiful of situation" and picturesque. Mrs. and Mrs. Perley divorced in 1845, and she acceded to ownership and managed the farm, living there until over 90 years of age.
421 Linebrook Road, the Abraham Howe barn (1725) - This early 18th century barn served several generations of the Howe family, and was converted to residential use in 1948. Elizabeth Howe, convicted as a witch and put to death in 1692, lived nearby
437 Linebrook Road, the Allen Perley farm (1784) - Part of this structure is an older home that was moved from Rowley to this location by John Perley. He and his son Silas expanded it in either direction. Over the years, a large area of land along Linebrook Road came into the possession of the Perley family.
5 Linebrook Rd., the Richard Lane house (1851) - Richard Rogers Lane built the house in 1851, He died in 1858, and his only child, Etta, inherited the house. which is mentioned in the 1898 deed when she sold it to Charles W. Woodbury.
51 Linebrook Road, the Hart House (1678) - The oldest parts of the Hart House were apparently constructed in 1678-80 by Samuel Hart, the son of Thomas Hart, an Irish tanner who arrived in Ipswich in 1637. The two oldest rooms are exact duplicates of the originals, which were moved to museums in the early 20th Century.
61 Turnpike Road, the John Foster house (1780) - The sign that hung at Foster's Tavern has been stored in a barn at the Ipswich Museum for a century.and reads, "I shoe the horse, I shoe the ox I carry the nails in my box I make the nail, I set the shoe, And entertain some strangers too."
7 Linebrook Rd. (1914) - The actual date of construction for the house at 7 Linebrook Rd. is unverified. There is a tradition that 5 Linebrook was originally at this location and was moved.
91 Old Right Road, the Jacob Potter house (c 1845) - This property is in the vicinity of several early Potter family homesteads. With wide exterior casings and pedimented window heads, the house is one of the more elaborate Greek Revival cottages in Linebrook.
C. Chester Caldwell house, 8 Linebrook Rd. - In September 1867, Joseph and Joanna Ross sold Daniel R. Caldwell this lot.
3 Loney’s Lane, the Aaron Day Wells house (c 1850) - Aaron Wells resided in the only house on Loney's Lane, and each year he was a candidate for Selectman. Promising that if he won, he would have a tunnel dug under Town Hill so that people would not have to climb it. He was a good man but he never got elected, and thus there is no tunnel under Town Hill.
4 Lords Square, Old Fire House (c 1870) - The empty yellow building at Lords Square once served as a fire station, housing engine #2 the Neptune, and the town's first motorized fire truck, Hose 2.
3 Short Street, the Short Street Store (1884) - The only building on Short Street is said to have orginally been Asa Lord's barn. In the first half of the 20th Century it was the home of Marcorelle Brothers.
1 Lords Square, Payne School (1802) - In 1802, the North District decided to construct a schoolhouse with public subscription. In 1891 it was moved from its previous location where the laundromat is now, and received extensive repairs. Payne School was last used for students in 1942, and since 1972 has served as the Ipswich School superintendent's office.
1 Manning Street, the E.H. Martin house (1880) - The E. H. Martin house originally faced Central Street. It was moved back one lot and turned to face Manning St.
10 Manning Street, the G. Haskell house (circa 1890) - 10 Manning Street, the G. Haskell house (circa 1890) Like most of the houses on Manning Street, this house first appears in the 1893 Birdseye map of Ipswich. In the 1910 Ipswich map the owner is G. Haskell.
12 Manning Street, the Edward T. Pike house (1885) - The mortgage for this house was taken out in 1885. Almost all of the houses on Manning Street appear in the 1893 Ipswich map.
13 Manning St., the Fields house, (c. 1900) - 13 Manning St., is owned by “Mrs. Fields” in the 1910 map. The town assessors database gives the date of construction as 1870. However, the 1884 Ipswich map shows no houses yet constructed on the street, which had not even been added in the 1872 map.
14 Manning Street (c 1915) - The house at 14 Manning Street does not appear in the 1910 Ipswich map, but based on the architectural characteristics in common with other houses on the street is presumed to have been constructed shortly thereafter.
15 Manning Street (c 1920) - The Ipswich assessors database provides a date of 1920 for this house.
16 Manning St. (c 1900) - 16 Manning St., circa 1900. G. A. Lord owned this house, another one house next door and one on High St.
17 Manning Street, the Candlewood School (1856) (moved to this location) - Records indicate that the 1856 schoolhouse on Candlewood Road was moved to this location and enlarged in 1905 to relieve overcrowding in the original Winthrop School. . The form of construction predates the Victorian style of the other houses on the street.
18-20 Manning Street (1902) - 18-20 Manning St. is believed to have been constructed in 1902 and was owned by G. A. Lord in the 1910 Ipswich map. A different structure is shown in the 1893 Ipswich Birdseye Map.
21 Manning Street - The date of construction for this house is uncertain. The Ipswich assessors database shows the date of construction as 1990. The 1893 Ipswich birdseye map and 1910 map shows show a utilitarian structure at this location, which may have been converted or a new house placed on an older foundation.
23 Manning Street (1934) - The Ipswich Assessors database shows the date of construction as 1934.
24 Manning Street (1932) - The Ipswich assessors databases shows the date of construction as 1932.
26 Manning Street, the Sullivan house (1927) - The 17th Century Caleb Lord house on the corner of High and Manning Streets was removed in 1927 and was replaced by the home of Bernard Sullivan. This is a modified form of the "American foursquare" house of the 1920's and 30's.
3 Manning St. (after 1910) - 3 Manning Street. An empty lot is shown on the 1910 Ipswich map, owned by E. W. Russell.
6 Manning Street, the H. K. Damon house (1890) - This 1890 Victorian house features a third floor porch, slate shingles, 10-foot ceilings, two stain glass windows, oak floors, original moldings and pocket doors.
7 Manning St., the E W. Russell house (c 1890) - The house at 7 Manning St. appears first in the 1893 Ipswich Birdseye map. 1910 Ipswich map shows the owner as E W. Russell, who worked as a dyer at the Ipswich Mills.
8 Manning Street, the Jordan house, (c. 1890) - This house first appears in the 1893 Ipswich Birdseye map.
9 Manning St., the Albert P. Hills house (c. 1890) - Like many of the houses on Manning Street, it first appears in the 1893 Ipswich Birdseye map. Hills owned a grocery on North Main Street. E. W.Russell was the owner in the 1910 Ipswich map.
Manning Street, a Victorian neighborhood - Central Street was laid out in 1872, and Manning Street in 1882. Manning Street first appears in the 1884 Ipswich map, newly created, with no houses yet. The 1910 Ipswich map shows all of the houses now on the street, and Warren Street has been extended from North Main to Manning Street.
16 Maple Avenue, the William H. Bodwell house, 1890 - In 1891 this house appears on maps under the ownership of William H. Bodwell, a carpenter.
3 Maple Avenue, the Harland and Blanche Burke house (1916) - Harland Burke was a superintendent at F.L. Burke & Son, heel manufacturers whose factory was at Brown Square.
4 Maple Avenue, the Arthur H. and Madeline H. Tozer house (1915) - Arthur Tozer was a music teacher for the public schools and apparently worked out of his home. Prior to construction of this house, land on which it stands was part of a larger parcel belonging to G. Tozer.
5 Maple Avenue, the G. Baxter – Frank Campbell house (1890) - This small house features chamfered posts, brackets, and spindle friezes. The houses at 3 and 5 Newmarch Street in Ipswich are identical to 5 Maple Ave., all constructed between 1870 and 1890.
6-8 Maple Ave., the George Tozer house (circa 1890) - Maple Street first appears in the 1884 Ipswich map, without houses. George Tozer constructed this large house when the Washington Street neighborhood section behind it was still farmland.
12 Market Street, the Abraham Wait house (1832) - Constructed in 183, this house is the only surviving early 19th Century brick building on Market Street. Abraham Wait and his brother operated a shoe store, and over the years the building has been used as a bank, business office, doctors office, and dwelling house.
20 Market Street, the Stacey-Ross house (1734) - In 1733 John Stacey "being incapable of labor " petitioned the town that he may build a house beside the rocky ledge on the lower North Green "for selling cakes and ale for his livelihood." The house was moved to this location 100 years after its construction.
24 Market Street, the Aaron Jewett house (c 1800) - Constructed around the beginning of the 19th Century, this small building has served as Tetrault Jewelry Store since 1941, one of the longest-lasting family businesses in Ipswich.
25 Market Street, the Nathaniel R. Farley Shoe Factory (1830-56) - One of the oldest commercial buildings still standing on Market Street, it was originally the Nathaniel R. Farley shoe factory. The building was altered in 1856 to its current appearance. In the second half of the 20th Century the building housed Goodhue's Hardware Store,
27 Market Street, the Ipswich Post Office (1939) - The Ipswich Post Office was built on Market St. in 1939 with U.S. Treasury funds.
48 Market Street, the Bailey house (c 1887) - Dr. George Bailey served as medical examiner for Ipswich and Essex County. His shingle style Victorian home was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1980.
56 Market Street, the Lord-Sullivan-Haskell house (1847) - Captain John Lord made his last voyage as master of the ship Miles Standish to Calcutta sailing May 17, 1855. The next owner was John J. Sullivan was an inventor with multiple patents for improvements to sewing machines.
61 Market Street, formerly the Damon Block (1982) - This is the third commercial building at that location. The Court House on Town Hill moved to this location in the mid-19th Century by Curtis Damon. It was destroyed by fire in 1894 and replaced by a large elegant Victorian building which burned twice.
Meeting House Green
1 Meeting House Green, the First Congregational Church (1971) - A meeting house was built here by 1636. This is the sixth church on this spot. The previous historic building burned in 1965. This green has always been the religious and governmental heart of Ipswich.
12 Meeting House Green, the First Church Vestry (1832) - Built in 1832, the Vestry at 12 Meeting House Green was deeded to the First Church in Ipswich, Massachusetts in 1838 by George W. Heard, Esquire. It has served First church and the community of Ipswich as a Chapel and now as a coffee house and meeting place. The historic building was recently restored.
2 Meeting House Green, the Joseph N. Farley house (1842) - Joseph K. Farley, bought an old house on this lot in 1842, moved it to upper High Street, and built this "mansion.:The Ipswich Manufacturing Company opened in 1830, and Joseph Farley Jr. was the clerk and paymaster. His ambitious plan to divert water above the dam through a canal to supply power for a mill on the lower river near County Street never succeeded.
6 Meetinghouse Green, the Captain Israel Pulcifer house (1812) - On the night of June 9, 1811 the house on this lot burned with most of its contents. Captain Pulcifer rebuilt at once. Originally a hip-roof Federal style house, restoration in the 1870’s added a Second Empire mansard roof.
8 Meeting House Green, the David T. Kimball House (1808) - In 1808 the jail site was sold to Reverend David Tenny Kimball; the old jail was removed, and he built the house that is located there now. Rev. Kimball was highly respected for his ministry and a staunch abolitionist.
Meeting House Green Historic District - The North Green was once the religious, governmental and commercial center of Ipswich, and where the town's most successful businessmen built fine Georgian, Federal, Greek Revival, Italianate and Victorian homes.
2 Mill Road, the Sullivan house (c 1890) - William Warner Jr. sold a four acre lot at what was then known as Bush Hill Corner to Samuel Spiller, who built a small house. In 1870, Spiller’s house and land were bought by Eugene Sullivan, who within 10 years had purchased over 70 acres of farm land extending from Topsfield Rd. to the Ipswich River.
35 Mill Road, the Captain William Warner house (1780) - The road from the dam to Topsfield road was originally located west of Mill Rd. This house was moved from its original location near the bridge, and a section of the old road is now the driveway.
44 Mill Road, Holiday Hill, The William and Violet Thayer house (1897) - William Thayer was headmaster of St. Mark’s School in Southborough MA, and this was their summer home. Information and photos are provided by David Thayer.
50 Mill Road, the Caleb Warner house (1734) - Caleb Warner, clothier, bought Michael Farley’s interest in the dam and married the 16-year-old daughter of the miller, By 1755 he had a large farm and built this mansion. The rear section incorporates two earlier structures dating to before 1734, the year he came into possession of the land.
10 Mineral Street, the W. Smith house (c 1860) - The 1872 Ipswich map and the 1884 map show a house at this location owned by "W. Smith." In the 1910 map, the owner is J. A. Smith.
14 Mineral Street (c 1915) - The house at 14 Mineral Street does not appear on the 1910 Ipswich map but was probably constructed or moved to this location soon after.
16 Mineral Street, Wise Saddle Shop (c1742 (?) /1801) - Jabez Farley sold this lot to Joseph and John Wise in 1801, who probably built this small dwelling shortly thereafter. As late as 1832, this was the only house on Mineral Street.
17 Mineral Street, c 1885; Baxter-Adamowicz house - This house is part of what was a double lot, constructed in the early 1880's by J. J Philbrook, who sold it soon thereafter to Edward H. Baxter. The Adamowitz family have owned it since 1926.
19 Mineral Street (1856) - In 1856, Mary Lord Baker, widow of Stephen W. Baker transferred 1 1/2 acres including this lot to Mary Philbrook. The Philbrook family constructed a house on the property, which appears in the 1872 Ipswich map.
20 Mineral Street, the Lucy Ackerman house (c 1870) - This house began as a story and a half Mansard cottage, with the Mineral Street wing added later. The small front mansard cottage is shown in the 1872 map with the name "Mrs. L. Ackerman,"
22 Mineral Street, the Warner-Harris House (c. 1696, alt. 1835) - The earliest sections of this house were built by Daniel Warner in 1696 on Market Street. In 1835, Ephraim Harris, builder, was commissioned by Capt. Robert Kimball to build a new house on the lot. Harris removed a portion of the Warner house to his own land at the corner of Central and Mineral Streets, and enlarged it.
23 Mineral Street, the Lydia and Joseph Lord house (1871) - Andrew Geyer purchased the lot in 1871 and in 1873 sold the lot with a house on it to Lydia and Josiah Lord.
26 Mineral Street (c 1870) - In the 1872 map, this house and the house at 22 Mineral Street are owned by Ephraim Harris, but only the latter appears in the 1856 map. By 1910 both houses were owned by Mrs. A. Spiller.
28 Mineral Street (c 1880) - The house at 28 Mineral St. is shown in the 1884 Ipswich map and the 1893 Ipswich Birdseye Map. The owner's name is shown as "Miss Moore.
3 Mineral Street, the Charles H. Baker house (c 1870) - The house at 3 Mineral Street was constructed between publications of the 1856 and 1872 Ipswich maps. The earliest owner to be identified is Charles H. Baker who owned the house by 1884. Baker is listed is town directories as a "flagman", possibly for the local branch of the Boston & Maine Railroad.
31 Mineral Street (c 1870) - This house first appears in the 1872 Ipswich map. The first owner is shown as "Caldwell." "Gable and Wing" houses with Italianate Victorian woodwork are found throughout Ipswich dating to the period from 1860-1880.
33 Mineral Street, the Caroline Norman house, 1884 (moved from Central St.) - The house at 33 Mineral Street was moved from the location of Cumberland Farms on Central street in Ipswich.
35 Mineral Street, the Smith house (c 1835) - The Ipswich Assessors map shows the date of construction as 1823, but it first appears in the 1856 Ipswich map, and continues into the 20th Century as the Smith house.
39 Mineral Street (c 1920) - The building at this location in the 1910 Ipswich map was a two story barn or storage building belonging to the Smith family. It is unclear if this is the same structure converted into a residence.
34 Mitchell Road, the Mitchell Farm (1800) - There has been a farm on this site since the late 17th century. Structural evidence suggests that the present house was constructed about 1800. From 1870 until the 20th century the building was owned by the Mitchell family.
Mount Pleasant Ave.
13 Mount Pleasant Avenue, the Mary Nugent house (1874) - This house is probably the oldest on Mount Pleasant Avenue, but its early history is uncertain.
4 Mount Pleasant Ave., the William Hayes building, c 1890 - The house at 4 Mount Pleasant Ave. was originally the William Mayes apartments and boarding house at the corner of Central and Manning Streets.
Mount Pleasant Neighborhood - Featured image: Mount Pleasant neighborhood on the 1910 Ipswich map. Information is from the MACRIS site These houses were built at a time when the foreign-born population of Ipswich was on the rise, Increasing 446% between 1875 and 1915. At the time these houses were built, manufacturing had […]
3 Newbury Road, the Philomen Foster house and barn (1787) - Philomen Foster was a deacon of the Linebrook Church and was a member of the Linebrook minutemen. This 18th century cape retains much of its historic character.
6 Newbury Road, the Joseph B. Perley house (1865) - The site was first settled by Nehemiah Abbott, who married James Howe, Sr.' s daughter Mary in 1659 and farmed this part of his father-in-law's land. By the late 18th century the Perley family owned and farmed the site.
38 Newmarch St., the Tobias Lakeman House (1732) - In 1732, Stephen Minot acting on behalf of the heirs of Francis Wainwright, deeded a three acre parcel for £75 to Tobias Lakeman, a fisherman who drowned 6 years later in Casco Bay.
27 Northgate Road, the Asa Stone Barn (1839) - This restored barn was moved from its previous location on Argilla Rd. The barn is a good example of an early 19th century “Yankee Ground Barn."
North Main Street
12 North Main Street, Treadwell’s Inn (1737) - In 1737, Captain Nathaniel Treadwell opened an inn in this building. John Adams visited Ipswich frequently during the 1770's in his capacity as a lawyer and always stayed at Captain Nathaniel Treadwell's inn. It was erroneously named the Christian Wainwright house, which no longer stands.
16 North Main Street, the Stephen Coburn house (1845) - This Greek Revival home was built in 1845 by postmaster Stephen Coburn. After the death of his widow it became the Lucy B. Coburn Home for the Elderly, a benevolent institution, and is now Kaede Bed and Breakfast.
18 North Main Street, the Charles Kimball house (1834) - Charles Kimball attained honor as a colonel of the militia, a distinguished probate lawyer, and deacon of the Church. He was one of the original trustees of the Ipswich Female Seminary. The house shares a subdued Greek Revival style with the Stephen Coburn house next door. It is remembered as the home of the Manning School master.
19 North Main Street, Thomas Manning house (1799) - This house was built by Dr. Thomas Manning in January, 1799, and remained in the family until 1858, when it became a parsonage. This house is protected by a preservation agreement between the owners and the Ipswich Historical Commission.
2 North Main Street, the John Appleton house (1707) - In 1962 the Appleton House was purchased by Exxon, which intended to build a gas station on the site. The Ipswich Heritage Trust was formed to save the house, the first major preservation action in Ipswich.
21 North Main Street, the Theodore Cogswell house (1880) - Abram D. Wait, et.al., sold this lot to Theodore F. Cogswell (953:203). Cogswell removed the 17th century house, once the “Black Horse Saloon” and built this Second Empire house at 21 North Main Street in Ipswich in 1880, with a fine Mansard roof. Cogswell was a grocer as well as clerk and treasurer of the Ipswich Savings Bank. He also built the Victorian “painted lady” on North Main Street for his daughter and her husband after demolishing a first period home on that site.
22 North Main Street, the Colonial Building (1904) - The Colonial Building at 22 North Main Street was built in 1904 as a commercial attempt by the Feoffees of the Little Neck Trust. Ralph A. Daniels of Rowley had a furniture store in the building and Howard J. Blake, jr. had a hardware store at one time. One floor of the building was rented by the School Board in 1907 to accommodate the 9th grade. Charles Lampson converted the building into apartments about 1945.
25 North Main Street, the Ipswich Public Library - The Ipswich Public Library at 25 North Main Street in Ipswich is an 1869 Greek Revival building. The library and the first books were a gift to the town from Augustine Heard. and a large endowment by Professor Daniel Treadwell, whose family homestead originally sat at this location. The wings on either side were added later.
26 North Main Street, the Agawam House (1806) - Nathaniel Treadwell built the second Treadwell's Inn in 1806. In the mid-1800′s the inn was modernized with Victorian architectural elements and was renamed the Agawam House. It continued to be the town's first class hotel until it closed in the late 1920′s.
29 North Main Street, the Odd Fellows Building (1817) - In 1817 the Probate Court and Registry erected this building for its own use. In the year 1852, the Registry and its records were removed to Salem. By 1884 a second floor had been added, and it housed the Odd Fellows upstairs, with Blake's Drug Store downstairs.
31 North Main Street, the Methodist Church (1859) - The Methodist Society was established in Ipswich in 1824. The current Methodist Church on Meeting House Green was constructed in 1859. The steeple appears on the town’s seal, drawn by Ipswich artist Arthur Wesley Dow.
33 North Main Street, the Nathaniel Wait house (1865) - Nathaniel Wait was a cobbler, and placed on exhibit at the Essex County Fair a pair of fishing boots judged excellent for their absence of an inside seam. He was a trustee of the church and helped arrange the purchase of County land for construction of the present edifice in 1859.
34 North Main Street, the William Pulcifer house (1836) - William Pulcifer was a dry goods storekeeper who built the combination storefront, office and residence building at 34 North Main St. in 1836. This is the only brick residence in the Meetinghouse Green Historic District
36 North Main Street, the Dr. John Manning house (1769) - This house has one of the first preservation agreements in Ipswich, created by the Ipswich Heritage Trust. Dr. Manning was also an inventor and built an unsuccessful wind-driven woolen mill on the site of the present Caldwell Block next to the Choate Bridge. His second mill at the Willowdale Dam was more successful.
38 North Main Street, the Old Post Office (1763) - This structure was built in 1763 as part of the historic Dr. John Manning property. Probably originally a barn or warehouse, it became the post office in 1790. This building also served as the shop of Daniel Rogers, a master gold and silversmith who later moved to Newport RI.
40 North Main Street, the Captain Brewer house (1825) - Captain John Brewer bought two small parcels on North Main St. in 1824 and on them built the present house as a general store.
42 North Main Street, the John Johnson house (1871) - Margaret Kendall sold John A. Johnson this lot on Oct. 15, 1870. The old Fitts residence on the lot was moved to 43 High Street. Johnson built a large, elaborate Italianate mansion which remains one of the finest examples of that style in Ipswich. The gabled carriage house, complete with cupola and characteristic Italianate details, still remains. The Johnson shoe store was down the hill on Market Street.
44 North Main Street, the Harry K. Dodge house (1886) - Harry K. Dodge bought the homestead of the widow Margaret S. Kendall in 1886. He tore down the old house and erected this Victorian home.
45 North Main Street, the Isaac Flitchner house (1860) - In 1860 the Captain John Lord house was moved to Washington Street, and Dr. Isaac Flitchner built this fine Italianate house on the lot. It was the home of Justice Charles Augustus Sayward who tried the 18 defendants in the 1913 Ipswich Mills riot.
46 N. Main Street, the James Damon house (1866) - James Damon bought this property from Thomas Morley in 1866, removed an 18th century house and built this Italianate mansion. The 2 1/2 story house has Italianate window hoods, quoins, bracketed and decorated cornice, a bold arrowhead and dentil eaves. Damon was a businessman who owned the County Street Mill on Falls Island at Sawmill Point, as well as the “Damon Block” downtown in Ipswich.
47 North Main Street, the George Farley House (1888) - In 1888 Theodore Cogswell bought the ancient Dodge house built in 1660 and tore it down to build this Victorian “Painted Lady” for his daughter Emiline and her husband George Farley, owner of the Farley and Daniels shoe company. Their son Theodore was a hero of WW I.
48 North Main Street, the Thomas Morley house (c 1750, alt. 1845) - This house and its northern neighbor, 50 North Main, were a single structure before 1845, when Thomas Morley bought the southern portion of that house, separated and rotated it 90° to present a gable end to the street, and finished it for his dwelling. Thomas Morley was an artist and taught painting in his school on Summer St., which stood behind the present 47 North Main.
49 North Main Street, the John Chapman house (1770) - This house was built in 1770 by John Chapman a "leather breeches maker." In 1822 Captain Ephraim Kendall sold the house to Ebenezer and Daniel Russell, and throughout the rest of the 19th Century the house stayed in the Russell family.
50 North Main Street, the James Brown house (1700 / 1721) - The James Brown house is part of a larger 1700 house that was divided into three houses in the late 18th Century. The chamfered oak frame in the southern portion indicates late First period, while the northern section appears to date from the 1720's. The Morley house next door was separated and turned sideways.
51 North Main Street, the Sarah Lord house (1849) - Sarah Lord was the wife of A. P. Lord, whose general merchandise store existed at Lords Square for 100 years. Italianate motifs are featured in this house.
52 N. Main Street, the Treadwell – Hale house (1799) - This building is believed to have been built after the land was sold to Nathaniel Treadwell 3rd in 1799. He transferred to Joseph Hale one month later. There is a stone cooking hearth in the basement of the house, which is protected by a preservation agreement with the Ipswich Historical Commission.
56 N. Main St., the Dodge and Spiller Grocery (c 1850) - In 1854, Manning K. Dodge, who owned several lots at this end of North Main Street, sold the house to Richard K. Dodge. For several decades it was the location of the Dodge and Spiller grocery store.
57 North Main Street, the Day-Dodge House (1696-1737) - This unusual double house has two entrances and asymmetrical bays. The corner at North Main and East Street is the oldest section and appears to have elements of a barn constructed by Francis Wainwright at this location in 1696. This house is protected by a preservation agreement.
58 North Main Street, the Captain Richard Rogers House (1728) - Captain Richard Rogers bought this lot in 1728 and built this high style, gambrel roofed house shortly thereafter. The balustrade, paneling and shell cupboards in this house indicate a high-style Georgian influence, one of the finest of its vintage in New England.
6-8 North Main St., Taverner Sparks (c.1671-1710) - The left side of this first period house was the home of taverner John Sparks and his wife Mary. The right side was added in the early 18th Century during ownership by the Smith family. Sparks' nearby hostelry was known far and wide, and Sessions of the Quarterly Courts met there for 20 years.
Old England Road
2 Old England Road, the Captain Jabez Treadwell house (1748) - The Captain Treadwell house features Georgian-era construction. Captain Treadwell's ships, "The Dolphin," and "Hannah" sailed from the town wharves, where they loaded to Trinidad, St. Lucie, Point Petre and other West India ports.
1 Poplar Street, the Lathrop house (1912) - This lot is part of the old "School Orchard" on which the town's first grammar school was built. In the 1800's Wallace and Charles Lathrop purchased the land for their well-established coal, ice and wood distribution business.
11 Poplar Street, the George H. Green house, (c. 1890) - The house at 11 Poplar St. was constructed for George H. Green between 1884 and 1893, when it first appears in the Ipswich Birdseye map. The owner of the house in the 1910 Ipswich map is G. Green.
2 Poplar Street, Swasey Tavern (1718) - John Ayres built a house in 1693, and sold it in 1705 to John Whipple, who did extensive alterations. In 1725 Increase How purchased the "good mansion house” from Whipple and ran an inn. In 1789 President George Washington addressed the citizenry from these steps. It was owned by General Joseph Swasey in the early 19th Century.
5-7 Poplar Street, the Dr. John Calef house (1671) - This house was built on South Main St. between 1671 and 1688 by Deacon Thomas Knowlton. In the mid-18th Century the house was owned by Dr. John Calef, a Loyalist. John Heard moved the house to its present location in order to build his elaborate Federalist home which now houses the Ipswich Museum.
9 Poplar St., the Seward – Mavroides house (1873) - William Seward built the house at 9 Poplar St. in 1873, but for 7 decades its been owned by the Mavroides family. The "gable with ell" plan with vernacular Italianate features was popular in the second half of the 19th Century.
1 South Green, the Captain John Whipple House (1677) - The oldest part of the house dates to 1677 when Captain John Whipple constructed a townhouse near the center of Ipswich. The Historical Commission moved it over the Choate bridge to its current location and restored to its original appearance.
11 South Village Green, the Gables (1838) - This house was designed by mathematician David Baker as an upscale lodging for lawyers in town for the Ipswich court. He was unable to repay the money he borrowed from Augustine Heard, who took possession. In the 1920's Nellie Huckins purchased the house and ran the Gables Tea Room.
5 South Village Green, the Aaron Smith house (1776) - Aaron Smith married Lucy, the daughter of John and Eunice Baker next door. A metal worker, He produced bayonets for the Revolutionary War. The clocks he produced are highly valued.
7 South Village Green, the Rev. John Rogers – Col. John Baker House (c 1700, expanded in 1761) - Daniel Rogers sold his homestead to John Baker in 1761 and Baker built this house, which has much original material, including Georgian paneling and original fireplaces. This house is protected by a preservation agreement with the Ipswich Historical Commission.
Construction of the 1657 Alexander Knight house - The Alexander Knight House on the South Green is an exact replica of a seventeenth-century, single-room house, based on a description found in town records.
South Green Historic District - The South Green dates from 1686, when the town voted that the area be held in common, and became known as the School House Green. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1980.
South Main Street
15 South Main Street, the Caldwell Block (1870) - The Caldwell Block stands on the site of the former Massachusetts Woolen Manufactory, constructed by Dr. John Manning in 1794. The property was sold to Stephen Coburn in 1847 and housed the post office and other shops. The building was destroyed by fire, and in 1870 Col. Luther Caldwell erected the present building.
30 South Main Street, the Old Town Hall (1833) - The Unitarians built their church here in 1833 but sold it to the town ten years later to be used as town hall. The lower section was constructed at the corner, the old Unitarian Church was moved on top.
31 South Main Street, the Joseph Manning house (1727) - A house on this lot was purchased by Timothy Souther in 1794 and stayed in the Souther family until 1860. It was taken down in 1917, and the Dr. Joseph Manning house was moved to this location so that an automobile dealership could be constructed across from the Old Town Hall.
36 South Main St., the Hall-Haskell House (Ipswich Visitor Center), 1820 - The Ipswich Visitor Center is located in the Hall-Haskell House on South Main Sreet.. Open weekends in May, seven days a week Memorial Day through October.
37 South Main Street, Baker’s Store (b. 1828) - The former Baker's Clothing Store at 37 South Main Street was built in 1828. Properties along the river side of South Main St. were granted in the late 17th Century to establish businesses along the corridor where people entered the Ipswich.
41-47 South Main St., R. W. Davis dealership (1930) - The buildings at 41 and 47 South Main were the R. W. Davis automotive dealership. By 1930 the Thomas Manning house had been moved to the Timothy Souther lot, and R. W. Davis had built a brick building for his automobile dealership.
54 S. Main St., the Heard HOuse / Ipswich Museum - The Museum provides tours of the First Period Whipple House and works by nineteenth-century Ipswich Painters including Arthur Wesley Dow.
57 South Main Street, Ipswich Mills boarding house (1876) - The building at 57 South Main Street was erected by the Ipswich Mills Corporation for use as a boarding house. In the early 20th Century, Madeline Linehan operated the Ipswich Mills Tea House in the building.
59 South Main Street, the Philomen Dean house (Old Lace Factory) (1716) - Dr. Philomen Dean bought this lot in 1715 and built a house. After various owners, the building was sold to the Boston and Ipswich Lace Co. in 1824, and an addition was built. In the late 19th century the building was used by as a tea room.
6 South Main Street, the Shoreborne Wilson – Samuel Appleton house (1685) - This house was built by joiner Sherborne Wilson,. The house was purchased in 1702 by Col. Samuel Appleton, the eldest son of Major Samuel Appleton. At the time it was still a two-room central chimney structure, and it is believed that Appleton expanded the building on the southeast side. The house is listed in the National Historic Register of Historic Places.
69 S. Main Street, the Samuel Dutch house (b 1733) - Samuel Dutch bought this land in 1723 and built this house by 1733. The front appears to have been enlarged with a third floor and a hip roof during in the early 19th Century. The rear wing has a chamfered summer beam, suggesting that it was an older house.
13 Spring Street, the George V. Millett house (1886) - Built about 1886, The George V. Millett house is an outstanding example of Victorian-era "shingle style" architecture. Millett was a partner in the company "Millett, Woodbury & Co., Shoes."
17 Spring Street, the David Dow house, 1857 - This is the childhood home of reknowned Ipswich painter Arthur Wesley Dow.
21 Spring Street, the G. F. Swain summer estate (b 1910) - George Swain married Mary Hayden Lord, the daughter of William Safford Lord of Salem. This house was their summer home.
3 Spring Street, the James Scott house (1840) - The first use of 3 Spring Street as a residence was between 1832-1856. It is possible that the building may have been used as a barn or shop before that. The 3 Spring St. property was portioned off from the large two-acre parcel originally owned by Francis Jordan.
5 Spring Street, the Henderson house (1770) - This house stayed in the Henderson family through the 19th Century. In the 1960's it was the site of a gunfire exchange with Ipswich police officers.
10 Summer Street, the Charles and Abigail Cotton / Moses Harris House (1838) - The Moses Harris house at 10 Summer Street is listed in the Ipswich assessors office as having been constructed in 1838. The gable end of the house faces the street with pilasters surrounding the front door, the roof rakes and cornice returns are wide, and the trim is […]
11 Summer Street, the Nathaniel Hovey house (1718) - Nathaniel Hovey Sr. lived only to the age of 28, about the time of the birth of his son Nathaniel Jr. in 1696. This house was probably built by the younger Hovey. The asymmetrical layout of the front of this house is because Hovey built a half house and expanded it later. A modified Beverly jog is on the left.
12 Summer Street, the Ezra W. Lord house (1848) - his was the childhood home of Walter Ezra Lord, born January 22, 1856. He graduated from the high school with the class of 1871, and established himself in a general dry goods business in Ipswich, and was regarded as one of the substantial men of that town. He served 5 years as a selectman, and in 1895 was chosen representative of Ipswich in the lower house of the General Court.
13 Summer Street, the Daniel Clark house (1872) - This lot with a house was purchased by Daniel Clark, in 1872. The old house is believed to have been moved to 5 County Street, and the present house was erected. It served as Phillip Clark's funeral home.
14 Summer St., the Isaiah Rogers house (c 1870) - The first known owner of 14 Summer St. Is Isaiah Rogers, shown on the 1872 Ipswich map. The property was sold in 1886 to Sara Fellows Lord.
15 Summer Street, the Jonathan Pulcifer house (1718) - Jonathan Pulcifer built this house in 1718 on Summer Street, one of the "oldest ways" in Ipswich. He was a descendant of Benjamin Pulsipher, an early settler of Ipswich who died in 1695.
16 Summer Street, the Treadwell house (1852) - The house at 16 Summer Street was built by the husband of William Treadwell's daughter Elizabeth.
17 Summer St., the William and Margaret Chapman house (after 1832) - Margaret L. Chapman, wife of William Chapman, died Nov. 21, 1889, aged 80 yrs, 10 mos. William Chapman, son of Jedediah Chapman, died July 24, 1899, aged 86 years, 3 months.
19 Summer Street, the Solomon Lakeman house (before 1745) - This lot was owned or occupied by Solomon Lakeman in 1745, but could have been constructed earlier. The 1832 map shows the owner as "The widow Lakeman."
24 Summer Street, the William E. Barton house (1884) - This house first appears in the 1884 Ipswich village map under the ownership of J. E. Barton. In the 1910 map it belongs to William J. Barton.
27 Summer Street, the Thomas Knowlton house (1688) - Humphrey Bradstreet. sold his house and land to Deacon Thomas Knowlton in 1646. In 1688 Knowlton passed his house and land to his grand nephew Nathaniel Knowlton with a new house erected on the property, and it is this house that survives today.
3 Summer Street, the Benjamin Kimball house (c 1720, alt. 1803) - This house dates to about 1720 and was a single-floor 2 room cape moved to this location in 1803. The first floor outside corners have gunstock posts, evidence that they once supported the roof.
30 Summer Street, the Smith-Barton house (moved 1880) - The house at 30-32 Summer Street may have been the High Street home of Daniel Smith, and was moved to the current location in the 1880’s by John Conley. The house was occupied by Civil War Veteran John Barton.
31 Summer Street, the Bartlett house (c 1870) - Ezekiel Bartlett sold this property to Frederick Willcomb in 1872. The decorative brackets under the soffets and porch roof are Italianate, suggesting a mid-century construction.
36 Summer Street, the John Brocklebank house (1856) - The Brocklebank family in Essex County traces its roots to John Brocklebank Sr. born about 1630 in Yorkshire, England, who moved with his wife Sarah to Rowley, MA in 1657. Jenny Ellsworth came into possession of this house and 38 Summer St. in 1930.
37 Summer Street, the William H. Jewett house (b 1872) - The elegant Cape Cod Colonial at 37 Summer Street first appears as the W. Jewett house in the 1872 Ipswich map, although the town website lists the date of construction as 1825.
38 Summer Street, the William M. and Jennie Ellsworth house (1881) - This house was built by William Merrill Ellsworth and his wife Jenny (Lord) Ellsworth. Two similar houses side by side are on the same lot in the 1910 map, owned by Mrs. Jennie Ellsworth.
39 Summer Street, the Foster – Grant house (1717) - In 1717 Nathaniel Knowlton sold a small lot to James Foster who is believed to have built the house. In 1826, the family sold to Ephriam Grant, and the house was long known as the "Grant house." Early Colonial features are preserved throughout the house.
4-6 Summer Street, the Cotton-Nourse house (1840) - Ebenezer Russell sold this lot to Charles C. Cotton, Feb. 27, 1840. Cotton built a double house, and sold half of the house with a partition running through it, and half of a barn to Foster Russell and Daniel P. Nourse in Feb. 1841. Cotton retained half of the house, but by the late 19th Century the house was owned solely by the Nourse family.
40 Summer Street, the Denison Rust house (b 1872) - Denison Rust deeded the house to Vallancourt E. Rust in 1906. In the late 20th Century this house was owned by the Brockelbank family.
43 Summer Street, the Wilcomb-Pinder house (1718) - This timber-framed First Period house was built in 1718 by William Wilcomb. The interior of the home features hand-hewn summer beams, wide plank flooring and the original fireplaces. The next owner, William Benjamin Pinder was a corporal with Col. Appleton’s company during the French and Indian War.
46 Summer Street, the James Foster house (1720) - James Foster bought this former orchard land in 1720 from Nathaniel Clark who moved to Newbury. The northwest side is the original half-house, which was doubled in size and remodeled to appear Georgian, with the two chimneys, dormers and a symmetrical front. The house was owned by the Soward family in the 19th Century, and partially burned.
48 Summer St., the Alonzo and Abbie Butler house, (1868) - in 1884 Abbie Butler and Alonzo Butler sold to Sarah Burnham the house next door at 46 Summer St. Ownership was transferred to Nathaniel Burnham in 1923.
5 Summer Street, the Widow Fuller house (1725) - In 1754, Elizabeth Fuller sold this house and land to Thomas Treadwell, who also owned the house at 7 Summer Street. Stylistic evidence points to a construction date of c. 1725. Originally the house was one room deep, with a cased frame. An ell was added at the turn of the 19th century.
7 Summer Street, the Thomas Treadwell house (C 1740) - The original house consisted of a large room with a chimney and entry at the right. Raised field wainscotting in this room is the most exceptional early second period feature. The house was altered in the mid-18th century, and the kitchen and small rear room are finished with trim from this period. In the mid-19th century new stairs and a new chimney were built. The sloop, "Endeavorer," under Capt. Thomas Treadwell, was included in the fishing fleet of 1716.
8 Summer Street, the Daniel Glazier house (1840) - Manning Dodge sold a part of his lot fronting on Annable’s Lane (Summer Streeet) to Daniel Glazier on July 20, 1835. Glazier built his house here soon thereafter, about 1840.
11 Topsfield Road, the Jacob and William G. Brown house (b 1832) - William Gray Brown, occupied this house after his fathers death and continued his father’s ice and coal business. He also owned and operated the Agawam House hotel facing Meeting House Green. The turret and porch are Victorian additions.
114 Topsfield Road, the Goodhue – Adams house (1763) - The home at 114 Topsfield Road is known as the Goodhue-Adams-Patch house. The Goodhue and Adams families were among the original settlers in Ipswich. The house is believed to have been built in 1763.
130 Topsfield Road, the Robert Wallis house (1703) - The Robert Wallis house at 130 Topsfield Road dates to the first half of the 18th Century. Original parts of the house may date to 1703, but the chimneys at either end of the building are indicative of a major 1750 renovation. Ensign Nicholas Wallis was born in 1633 […]
16 Topsfield Road, the Joseph Peatfield house and nursery (1877) - In 1846 Joseph Peatfield bought about seven acres bounded by Topsfield Road and the Ipswich River and planted a nursery in a part of this purchase.
208 Topsfield Road, the Joseph and Judah Goodhue house (1767) - After the death of Chrales G. Rice in 1943, the Winthrop family purchased their farm and the old Goodhue house. The Winthrops built a large house close to the river, and left this house still standing.
24 Topsfield Road, the Moses Kimball house (1688) - The land on which the Moses Kimball house was built, is part of a larger grant to early settler Samuel Appleton. His son John Appleton sold a five and 3/4 acre lot on the south side of Topsfield Road to Moses Kimball, a taylor, who built some portion of this house in 1688.
251 Topsfield Road, Turner Hill (1900) - Construction on the Turner Hill mansion-house began in 1900 for Charles and Ann Rice. She was killed in an equestrian accident in 1933 and a decade later the estate was purchased by the La Salette Fathers. It is now a golf club and condominium development.
28 Topsfield Road, Sacred Heart Church (1903) - Large numbers of Polish immigrants began coming to Ipswich in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The church and rectory were constructed in 1908. In 1999 the Archdiocese announced plans to close the church. While the Sacred Heart building retains most of its original appearance, the interior was converted into luxury apartments. The Rectory is now a private residence.
Bosson -Hayward-Goodhue-Jarlowicz house, 84 Topsfield Rd. (c. 1874) - The construction date and original owner of this house is uncertain.
Sullivan’s Corner: The Last Years of the Farm - For eight decades the Sullivan farm in Ipswich, MA practiced a pre-modern way of life. The two sisters who took over their father’s family farm in 1916 were also teachers and principals in the Ipswich schools.
Turkey Shore Road
1 Turkey Shore Road, the Burnham-Patch-Day house (1730) - This house has a preservation agreement with the Ipswich Historical Commission. The house was built by Thomas Burnham in 1730 on the foundation of the earlier house he bought in 1667. The large ell on Poplar Street was added in the early nineteenth-century. Abner Day bought the house of the heirs of John Patch in 1814 and kept a well-known tavern.
17 Turkey Shore Road, the John Edward Norman house (1895) - John E. Norman was in command of the ship "Rival" which was lot at sea with all hands in about 1870. The Captain was only twenty-eight years old, leaving a widow and a young family. This house is presumed to have been built by his son, John E. Norman, 2nd. John Edward Norman 3rd was born in 1897, served in the World War, and sold the house in 1935 to John H. Hill.
2 Turkey Shore, the Heard – Lakeman House (1776) - Nathaniel and John Heard bought this land in 1776 and built the present house. Nathaniel sold the house to Richard Lakeman III in 1795. The house was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1980, and has a preservation agreement with the Ipswich Historical Commission.
41 Turkey Shore Road, the Howard – Arthur Wesley Dow House (1680) - William Howard purchased this lot from Thomas Emerson in 1679 and built a half-house which was enlarged in 1709. From 1891 to 1906 Arthur Wesley Dow and his wife Minnie ran the Ipswich Summer School of Art in the house.
48 Turkey Shore Road, the Nathaniel Hodgkins house (1720) - The house at 48 Turkey Shore Road is believed to have been built by Nathaniel Hodgkins in 1720 on land formerly owned by Daniel Hovey. The gambrel roof indicates early Georgian era construction, and the rear ell was almost certainly constructed at the same time as an attached living area or kitchen, connecting to a utilitarian building. A second floor was added to the ell in the 19th Century.
49 Turkey Shore Road, the Austin Measures house (1874) - Austin Measures’ Candy Shop was first located in a small building on North Main Street, and later on Central Street. This house was built in 1874. The low-pitched roof, window hoods and corbels supporting the flat roof portico are of Italianate influence.
59 Turkey Shore Road, the Elizabeth and Otis Glover house (c 1870) - Elizabeth Glover, wife of Otis Glover, inherited the property at 59 Turkey Shore Road from her father, Abraham Soward. She moved the old house off the lot and built this large Queen Anne house on the location. Her husband Otis Glover was in the Civil War from 1861 to 1864, and lived until 1903.
63 Turkey Shore Road, the Isaac Foss house (1870) - Mary Appleton, daughter of Isaac and Elizabeth Appleton married, first, Mager Woodbury at 67 Turkey Shore Rd., and had two children. Mary Appleton Woodbury died in 1828; He died in October 1837. Their daughter Mary married Thomas McMahon at the old Abraham and Elizabeth Soward house at this site. […]
67 Turkey Shore Road, the Stephen Boardman house (1720) - This house is named for Stephen Boardman, the son of Thomas Boardman and Sarah Langley. He and his wife Elizabeth Cogswell moved to Stratham, NH where he made a name for himself as a vocal supporter of the American revolution.The wide pine board floors in the house are original, and 4 restored fireplaces share a central chimney.
61 Turnpike Road, the John Foster house (1780) - The sign that hung at Foster's Tavern has been stored in a barn at the Ipswich Museum for a century.and reads, "I shoe the horse, I shoe the ox I carry the nails in my box I make the nail, I set the shoe, And entertain some strangers too."
11 Waldingfield Road, “Applefield,” the Oliver Appleton Farm (1759 and earlier) - This property was part of the original Samuel Appleton farm. The 18th Century homes of Oliver Appleton and his son Oliver Jr. were moved a short distance and combined into one house by Charles Tuckerman.
65 Waldingfield Road, Sunswick (1890) - In 1882, Bayard Tuckerman married Annie Osgood Smith, daughter of Rev. Cotton Smith and Hariette Appleton, daughter of General James Appleton. A lot on Waldingfield Rd. near Highland Street that had once belonging to Daniel Fuller Appleton was purchased in 1890 by Tuckerman. He built his summer house on a slight rise and named it ““Sunswick."
Appleton Farms - Owned by the Trustees of Reservations, Appleton Farms is America’s oldest working farm, with 12 miles of walking trails, a visitor center, and Community Supported Agriculture program.
Hoyt House, Waldingfield Rd. (c 1885) - This boxy, white, house on Waldinfield Rd. adjoining Appleton Farms is all that remains of the “Hoyt House,” the summer residence of May Appleton Hoyt and her family. Mary “May” Eliza Appleton Hoyt (1860-1927) was the youngest daughter of Daniel Fuller Appleton of New York and Julia Randall […]
The Appleton Schoolhouse, 55 Waldingfield Rd. (before 1832) - The former Appleton Schoolhouse sits on the estate at 55 Waldingfield Rd.
11 Warren Street, the Old Warren Fire House and School (1884) - In 1884, the Town built a firehouse on Warren St., and purchased the Warren engine. In 1910 The Warren Street firehouse was converted to a school to house two 7th grade classrooms. The building is now a private residence.
12 Warren Street, the Louisa Wells house (c1700) - The Ipswich town assessors site indicates that this small house was constructed in 1700. The building was moved a short distance from Loney's Lane to face Warren St. at the beginning of the 20th Century,
8 Warren Street, the Harris – Grady house (1720-1772-1887) - In 1887, William Russell removed a house built in 1772 by James Harris at 12 High Street and built his Victorian house. The old house at that location was removed to 8 Warren St., in the ownership of David Grady, and expanded.
10 Washington St., the Mary Holmes – Captain John Lord house (b. 1770) - The house was constructed before 1770 at 45 N. Main St., and was moved to this location in 1860 by Michael Ready. The second floor was probably added at that time.